يبعد 60 كيلومتراً من الدوحة في الجهة الجنوبية الشرقية من البلاد، وهو إحدى العجائب الطبيعية الأكثر إثارة في قطر، ويُسمى أيضاً "بالبحر الداخلي". وقد صُنف كمحمية طبيعية من قبل اليونسكو، كما أنه أحد الأماكن القليلة في العالم التي يشق فيها البحر طريقه في قلب الصحراء. لا يمكن الوصول إلى هذا الامتداد الهادئ من المياه إلا عبر الكثبان الرملية مترامية الأطراف.

وفقاً لمنظمة اليونسكو، يضم خور العديد "طبيعة خلابة" تتصف بـ "جمال طبيعي لا مثيل له في العالم". ويقطن المنطقة مجموعة فريدة من أنواع الحيوانات، تشتمل على سلالات متنوعة ما بين نادرة أو مهددة بالانقراض من على وجه الأرض، مثل أنواع نادرة من السلاحف.

يستوطن خور العديد أيضاً أسراب معينة من الطيور ذات أهمية عالمية وإقليمية كأسراب ابن الماء التي تقطع في هجرتها آلاف الأميال. وقد يصادف الزائرون أيضاً طيور العقاب النساري فوق الجزر الصغيرة وكذلك الغزلان العربية.

قالت عنها اليونسكو: "تكتمل تلك الجاذبية الساحرة للمنطقة غير المأهولة على نطاق واسع بوجود حياة نباتية وحيوانية برية تجاورها منظومة بيئية بحرية تمتاز بالتنوع والحساسية العالية. حيث تتمثل الحياة النباتية في المنطقة في تلك السلالات الباقية هناك، والتي تعيش عليها السلالات الحيوانية والتجمعات المنتشرة في أنحاء شبه الجزيرة العربية، والتي في الوقت ذاته لا تجتمع على هذا النحو الفريد في أي موطن آخر".

شاهد المزيد من مواقع الجذب السياحيّة

Some 60 km from Doha in the south-eastern corner of the country lies one of Qatar’s most impressive natural wonders, the ‘Inland Sea’ or Khor Al Adaid. A UNESCO recognized natural reserve with its own ecosystem, this is one of the few places in the world where the sea encroaches deep into the heart of the desert. Inaccessible by road, this tranquil expanse of water can only be reached by across the rolling dunes.

According to UNESCO, Khor Al Adaid represents “a remarkable landscape” offering “world class scenic beauty”. The area is home to a unique set of fauna, including several species which are internationally rare and/or threatened, such as turtles.

Khor Al Adaid is also home to populations of certain species of birds which are of national and regional importance - long-distance migrant waterfowl winter. Visitors may also see ospreys nesting on islets and Arabian gazelles.

Said UNESCO, “This intrinsic attractiveness, of a largely uninhabited area, is added to by the presence of a diverse native terrestrial flora and fauna alongside a varied and sensitive marine ecosystem. The flora present in the area is typical of those habitats represented and supports species and communities mostly widespread on the Arabian Peninsula, yet not occurring in the same combination in any other single locality”.

See more attractions