Skip to main content

Popular attractions

Visit the impressive Qatar National Library

Light and air mark the modernist Qatar National Library, where every book is visible.

Qatar National Library

Designed by Rem Koolhaas, the diamond shaped exterior of the library belies its spacious interior, which prioritizes light and visibility. The bookshelves themselves are an integral part of the building, rising out of the floor and blending into the architecture.  Innovative technologies are seamlessly integrated throughout the building, enhancing accessibility and efficiency.

How to get there?

  • The museum is accessible by car

    Park in the Ceremonial Court parking lot and take a shuttle to the library.

  • The station to get off for the Qatar National Library is the Msheireb or Al Bidda Interchange; continue on the Green line towards the QNL station. 

Qatar National Library

Address

Education City Qatar, District of Freedom, Al Luqta St

Phone

+974 4454 0100

Website

https://www.qnl.qa/en

Tickets

Highlights of your visit

  • Heritage library

  • Innovation stations

  • The digitization laboratory

The Heritage Library has a vast collection of rare documents and manuscripts, books and periodicals in several European languages.  It also showcases early Arabic materials, including manuscripts, atlases and historical photographs. Some of the rarest books date from the 15th century, the earliest days of the printing press.  With over one million books, and more than 500,000 e-books, QNL’s automated book sorting system allows patrons to easily access titles, while a vast array of activities and services offer a rounded learning and community experience. 

Witness the wonders of the Arab-Islamic world through its manuscripts, housed in the Heritage Library 

QNL provides an environment that fosters learning, play and innovation.  Tools and equipment are provided at the library’s Innovation Stations, catering to a dizzying array of activities and interests - videography, photography, design, sound editing and 3D printing.  A music studio and STEM focused products further promote learning through doing.  With an avowed focus on preserving important cultural and historical items, QNL contains a dedicated Conservation and Preservation Laboratory which restores items in the Heritage Library, whilst climate-controlled display cases help preserve them.  The Digitization Laboratory digitizes items from QNL and other collections, making them available to scholars worldwide. 

Education City is a destination in and of itself, particularly for architecture lovers.  With a number of satellite campuses for internationally recognized universities, a walk through the area is especially rewarding. From the Education City Mosque and Quranic Botanic Gardens, to the Ceremonial Court where students convocate, beautifully designed structures await.  To witness the evolution of the Arab realm through its art, head to MATHAF The Arab Museum of Modern Art, home to one of the largest collections of modern Arab art.  To see living heritage, Al Shaqab Equestrian Centre showcases Arabian horses, with a breeding centre, stables and more.  

Useful information

Address

Education City Qatar, District of Freedom, Al Luqta St

Opening times

Saturday-Thursday:

8:00 am- 10:00 am

10:30 am- 2:30 pm

3:30 pm -8:00 pm

Friday: Closed

Not to miss

تخطى الى المحتوى الرئيسي

معالم الجذب البارزة

لا تفوّت زيارة مكتبة قطر الوطنية

تتميز مكتبة قطر الوطنية العصرية بضوئها وهوائها؛ حيث يمكن الاستمتاع بمطالعة كل كتاب.

الثقافة, الهندسة المعمارية

مكتبة قطر الوطنية

تعد المكتبة تحفة معمارية من تصميم ريم كولهاس، ويُضفي الجزء الخارجي منها المُصمّم على شكل الألماس طابعاً داخلياً فسيحاً يعطي الأولوية للضوء والرؤية. وتمثل أرفف الكتب ذاتها جزءاً لا يتجزأ من المبنى، حيث ترتفع عن الأرض وتمتزج بالهندسة المعمارية.  التقنيات المبتكرة مُدمجة بسلاسة في جميع أنحاء المبنى، مما يعزز إمكانية الوصول والكفاءة.

كيف يمكن الوصول إلى هناك؟

  • يمكن الوصول إلى المتحف بالسيارة

    اترك سيارتك في مكان انتظار السيارات بساحة الاحتفالات، واستقل حافلة إلى المكتبة.

  • للوصول إلى مكتبة قطر الوطنية، يمكنك التبديل في محطة مشيرب أو البدع، ثم الاستمرار على الخط الأخضر باتجاه محطة مكتبة قطر الوطنية. 

مكتبة قطر الوطنية

العنوان

شارع اللقطة, Education City Qatar, District of Freedom

الهاتف

+974 4454 0100

الموقع الإلكتروني

https://www.qnl.qa/en

أبرز معالم زيارتك

  • مكتبة تراثية

  • محطات الابتكار

  • المكتبة الرقمية

تضم مكتبة التراث مجموعة كبيرة من الوثائق والمخطوطات والكتب والدوريات النادرة بعدة لغات أوروبية،  كما تعرض المواد العربية القديمة، منها المخطوطات والأطالس والصور التاريخية. ويعود تاريخ بعض أندر الكتب إلى القرن الخامس عشر  حينما بدأ ظهور الطباعة.  وفيما تضم المكتبة أكثر من مليون كتاب وما  يزيد عن 500000 كتاب إلكتروني، يُتيح نظام فرز الكتب المؤتمت في مكتبة قطر الوطنية للمستفيدين الوصول بسهولة إلى العناوين، في حين توفر مجموعة واسعة من الأنشطة والخدمات تجربة تعليمية مجتمعية متكاملة. 

لا تفوّت مشاهدة عجائب العالم العربي الإسلامي من خلال مخطوطاته الموجودة في المكتبة التراثية 

توفر مكتبة قطر الوطنية بيئة تعزز التعلم واللعب والابتكار.  ويتم توفير الأدوات والمعدات في محطات الإبداع بالمكتبة، والتي تلبي احتياجات مجموعة مذهلة من الأنشطة والاهتمامات - مثل التصوير بالفيديو والتصوير الفوتوغرافي والتصميم وتحرير الوسائط الصوتية والطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد.  ويعزز استوديو الموسيقى والمنتجات التي تركز على العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) التعلم بالممارسة.  ومع التركيز الواضح على الحفاظ على المواد الثقافية والتاريخية المهمة، تضم مكتبة قطر الوطنية  معمل الحفظ والصيانة المخصص الذي يعمل على صيانة المواد الموجودة في المكتبة التراثية، فيما تساعد واجهات العرض المؤمنة بظروف مناخية محكمة في الحفاظ عليها.  ويقوم معمل الرقمنة برقمنة المواد الموجودة في مكتبة قطر الوطنية ومختلف المجموعات، لإتاحتها للباحثين في جميع أنحاء العالم. 

تُعد المدينة التعليمية  وجهةً مفضلةً في ذاتها، خاصة لعشاق الهندسة المعمارية.  لا تفوّت التجول في المنطقة التي تضم عدداً من الكليات التابعة لجامعات معترف بها دولياً. وتنتظرك مبانٍ رائعة في تصميمها، بدءاً من جامع المدينة التعليمية وحدائق القرآن النباتية إلى ساحة الاحتفالات حيث يتجمع الطلاب.  وللاستمتاع بمشاهدة تطور العالم العربي من خلال فنه، فلا تفوّت التوجه إلى  متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث، فهو موطن لواحدة من كبرى مجموعات الفن العربي الحديث.  ولمشاهدة التراث الحي، يعرض مركز الشقب للفروسية الخيول العربية فضلاً عن مركزٍ للتربية وإسطبلاتٍ وغيرها الكثير.  

معلومات مفيدة

العنوان

شارع اللقطة, Education City Qatar, District of Freedom

الموقع الإلكتروني

الهاتف

مواعيد العمل

من السبت إلى الخميس:

من 8 صباحاً إلى 10 صباحاً

من 10:30 صباحاً إلى 2:30 ظهراً

من 3:30 عصراً إلى 8 مساءً

الجمعة: مغلق

تجارب لا يسعُك تفويتها

demand space sticky