Skip to main content

Things To Do

Top things to do in Katara Cultural Village

Located at the point where the Middle East meets Asia, the tiny peninsular state of Qatar has long been a melting pot of cultures.  With a staggering array of cultural venues, including museums, galleries and public art, Qatar offers a potent mix of tradition and modernism.  Spelled in the ancient manner, Katara is a self-styled cultural village nestled between the gleaming financial district of West Bay, and the half-moon towers of The Pearl residential neighbourhood.  Bordered by a vast beach on one side, and the twin Katara Hills on the other, Katara is Doha’s go-to destination for art, culture and cuisine.  In no particular order, these are the top things to do here:   

1. Katara Mosque:

Visit the Katara Mosque

Designed by Turkey’s Zeynep Fadilloglu, who is believed to be the first female architect to specialise in mosques, the mosque features Persian and Turkish tile and enamel work in shades of blue and gold, proffering a stark contrast to the surrounding buildings.  With décor inspired by the Dolmabahçe Palace in Istanbul, the minaret, dome, and prayer niche (mihrab), draw from famous mosques across the Muslim world.  Next to the mosque, one can see the unmistakable pigeon towers – oblong structures with holes and perches for pigeons. 

Katara Cultural Village

Visit the Gold Mosque

The second mosque in Katara, this is smaller, but no less eye catching.  Facing the amphitheatre, it is covered with gold tiling, which glints in the sun. 

Katara Cultural Village

Discover the Amphitheatre

Spread over 3,275 sqm, this classical Greek style amphitheatre reflects Islamic influences, particularly in its arched entrances. Accommodating up to 5000 spectators, it affords stellar views of the sea on one side and the cultural village on the other.  The Force of Nature, an art installation depicting Mother Nature hurtling the world with a piece of cloth, stands between the amphitheatre and the water, showing humanity’s powerlessness in the face of nature. 

Katara Cultural Village

Explore 21 High Street

A giant gift box marks the start of this ultra-luxe high street, or follow the trail of high end cars dropping shoppers off at Galeries Lafayette – the iconic French department store.  With a powerful outdoor cooling system, and Murano glass Katara High Street offers year-round comfort, with no impediment to dining al fresco at one of the many cafes lining the street.  

Katara Cultural Village

Check out the art galleries

With numerous art galleries, workshops, exhibition areas and performance arenas, Katara is an artist’s haven. Tucked in between the alleyways of Katara, the Qatar Museum Gallery showcases local and international artists, whose works depict human-centred themes. Katara Art Center (KAC) is an independently run platform dedicated to contemporary art and trans-disciplinary creative endeavours.

Katara Cultural Village

Explore Al Thuraya Planetarium

Offering celestial delights for families and astronomy enthusiasts alike, the Al Thuraya Planetarium features a full-dome digital system capable of taking up to 200 visitors on a journey around the universe. In addition to engaging exhibits that delve into astronomy, atmosphere, geology and the oceans, Al Thuraya invites visitors to explore the role of astronomy in Qatar’s history and religious traditions.

Katara Cultural Village

Enjoy beach activities

The spacious public beach at Katara is invites visitors to stroll, sit, or engage in their choice of activities. Beach equipment rentals and services offering speed boat rides, knee boarding, parasailing and water skiing are readily available, and eminently affordable. 

Katara Cultural Village

Walk at the Katara Hills

To the North and South of the cultural village, lie Katara’s hills.  Lush landscaping, water features and walking tracks let picnickers and serious walkers alike tackle multiple levels.  Climbing atop the hills, catch your breath and the views of the village and the sea beyond, especially as it is aglow at sunset.  

Katara Cultural Village

Taste local flavours

Katara is home to some of Doha’s most popular eateries. From Chapati and Karak’s wraps and tea, to the staggering displays of fresh seafood at Lawazar, there is plenty of choice from across the Levant – with Mamig (Lebanon), Khan Farouk (Egypt), or Ard Canaan (Syria), as well as Sukar Pasha (Turkey) and Saffron Lounge (India).  Don’t feel like a sit down? Tasty Street boasts cabins with even more choice for bites on the go.  

Katara Cultural Village

Continue to explore

demand space sticky

Skip to main content

تجارب لا تفوّت

أهم التجارب التي لا تفوّت في الحي الثقافي كتارا

لطالما كانت دولة قطر في شبه الجزيرة بوتقةً تمتزج فيها الثقافات؛ وذلك بفضل وقوعها في تلك البقعة التي تجمع بين الشرق الأوسط وآسيا.  ومن خلال مجموعة مذهلة من الأماكن الثقافية، التي تشمل المتاحف والمعارض والفنون العامة، تُقدم قطر مزيجاً قوياً يجمع بين التقاليد والعصرية.  وتُعد كتارا، حسب تهجئتها بالطريقة القديمة، قريةً ثقافيةً على طراز خاص وتقع بين الحي المالي الشهير في الخليج الغربي والأبراج ذات الشكل الهلالي في حي اللؤلؤة السكني.  وتُعَد كتارا، التي يحدها شاطئ واسع من جهةٍ وتلال كتارا من الجهة الأخرى، هي الوجهة المفضلة في الدوحة للفنون والثقافة والمأكولات الشهية.  وإليك أهم التجارب التي لا تفوّت، دون ترتيب:  

1. جامع كتارا:

لا تفوّت زيارة جامع كتارا

صممت الجامع زينب فاضل أوغلو التركية، التي يُعتقد أنها أول مهندسة معمارية متخصصة في تصميم الجوامع، ويتميز الجامع بأعمال البلاط الفارسي والتركي وأعمال الطلاء المزودة بظلال زرقاء وذهبية اللون؛ ليعكس بذلك تبايناً صارخاً مع المباني المحيطة.  وتأتي المئذنة والقبة ومحراب الصلاة مستوحاة من مساجد مشهورة في جميع أنحاء العالم الإسلامي، فضلاً عن الديكور المستوحى من قصر دولمة بهجة في إسطنبول.  وبجوار المسجد، يمكن للمرء الاستمتاع بمشاهدة أبراج الحمام البارزة - وهي هياكل مستطيلة بها ثقوب ومجاثم للحمام. 

الحي الثقافي كتارا

لا تفوّت زيارة المسجد الذهبي

يُعد المسجد الثاني في كتارا، وهو أصغر حجماً، لكنه يخطف الأنظار.  ويقع في مواجهة المسرح المكشوف، وتمت تغطيته ببلاط ذهبي يلمع تحت أشعة الشمس. 

الحي الثقافي كتارا

استكشف المسرح المكشوف

يمتد هذا المسرح ذو الطراز اليوناني الكلاسيكي على مساحة تبلغ 3275 متراً مربعاً، ويعكس التأثيرات الإسلامية، لا سيما في مداخله المقوسة. ويستوعب المسرح ما يصل إلى 5000 مشاهد، ويتميز بإطلالاتٍ رائعة على البحر من جهةٍ والقرية الثقافية من الجهة الأخرى.  ويُعد المجسم الفني "قوة الطبيعة" عملاً فنياً تركيبياً يُصوّر الطبيعة الأم وهي تدفع العالم حاملةً قطعة قماش، وتُوضع هذه التحفة بين المسرح والمياه، مما يدل على عجز البشرية في مواجهة الطبيعة. 

الحي الثقافي كتارا

استكشف 21 هاي ستريت

يُمثل صندوق الهدايا العملاق بداية هذا الشارع فائق الفخامة، أو اتبع مسار السيارات الراقية التي تنزل المتسوقين في غاليري لافاييت - المتجر الفرنسي المميز.  ويوفر هاي ستريت المتميز بزجاج مورانو في كتارا وسائل الراحة على مدار العام، مع تميزه بنظام تبريد خارجي قوي، دون وجود ما يمنعك من تناول الطعام في الهواء الطلق في أحد المقاهي العديدة التي تصطف على جانبي الشارع.  

الحي الثقافي كتارا

لا تفوّت التجوّل في المعارض الفنية

يُعد كتارا ملاذاً للفنانين نظراً لتميزه بالعديد من المعارض الفنية وورش العمل وساحات العرض وساحات العروض المسرحية؛ حيث يعرض جاليري متاحف قطر، الواقع بين أزقة كتارا، أعمالاً لفنانين محليين وعالميين، تصور أعمالهم موضوعات تُركز على الإنسان. ويُعد مركز كتارا للفن منصةً مُدارة على نحوٍ مستقل ومخصصة للفن المعاصر والمساعي الإبداعية متعددة المجالات.

الحي الثقافي كتارا

استكشف قبة الثريا الفلكية

تقدم قبة الثريا الفلكية صوراً فلكية مبهجة للعائلات وعشاق علم الفلك على حدٍ سواء، وتتميز بنظام رقمي كامل القبة وتتسع لاستيعاب ما يصل إلى 200 زائر في رحلة لمشاهدة الكون. وتدعو قبة الثريا الزوار لاستكشاف دور علم الفلك في تاريخ قطر وتقاليدها الدينية، بالإضافة إلى المشاركة في المعارض التي تتعمق في علم الفلك والغلاف الجوي والجيولوجيا والمحيطات.

الحي الثقافي كتارا

استمتع بالأنشطة الشاطئية

يدعو الشاطئ العام الفسيح في كتارا الزوار إلى التنزه أو الاستمتاع بالجلوس أو المشاركة في الأنشطة التي يختارونها. وتتوفر بسهولة وبأسعار معقولة خدمات تأجير معدات الشاطئ والخدمات التي توفر ركوب القوارب السريعة والتزلج على الركبة والتزلج الهوائي والتزلج على الماء. 

الحي الثقافي كتارا

السير على تلال كتارا

تقع تلال كتارا في شمال وجنوب الحي الثقافي.  وتتيح المناظر الطبيعية الوارفة والمسطحات المائية ومسارات السير لكلٍ من المتنزهين والمشاة المهتمين بتجربة مستويات متعددة،  متنوعة بين تسلق أعلى التلال والتقاط أنفاسك ومشاهدة إطلالات الحي وما وراء البحر، لاسيما توهجه عند غروب الشمس.  

الحي الثقافي كتارا

لا تفوّت تذوق النكهات المحلية

تُعد كتارا موطناً لبعض المطاعم الأكثر شهرة في الدوحة. فبدءاً من تناول لفائف جباتي وكرك واحتساء الشاي إلى التمتع بالعروض المذهلة للمأكولات البحرية الطازجة في مطعم لوزار، تضم كتارا الكثير من الخيارات من جميع أنحاء بلاد الشام - مع مأكولات مطعم ماميك (لبنان) أو خان فاروق (مصر) أو أرض كنعان (سوريا)، فضلاً عن سكر باشا (تركيا) وصالة الزعفران (الهند).  هل تُفضل عدم الجلوس؟ يتميز شارع المذاق بمقصورات مزودة بالمزيد من خيارات الوجبات السريعة أثناء التنقل.  

الحي الثقافي كتارا

واصل رحلة الاستكشاف