Skip to main content

Things To Do

Discover FANAR - Qatar Islamic Cultural Centre

Islamic faith, Qatari culture, Doha society.

Fanar

One of the most widely known landmarks in Doha, the spiral-shaped Fanar building is centrally located near Souq Waqif and the Museum of Islamic Art.  It can be seen from a distance, especially in the evenings when its lighting accentuates the unique design of this beautifully unique piece of architecture. Fanar was once the largest mosque in the country.

How to get there?

  • Fanar is located in the Corniche area near Souq Waqif.

Fanar

Address

Doha, Qatar

Phone

+974 4444 7444

While it remains a functioning mosque, Fanar also hosts religious, education-related and social activities. At the cultural centre visitors can enjoy traditional coffee and learn about the Qatari lifestyle, the country’s heritage and culture.  

Highlights of your visit

  • Islamic teachings

  • Guided tour

  • Friday prayers in English

The Fanar Centre is named after Sheikh Abdulla Bin Zaid Al Mahmoud Islamic Cultural Centre, a scholar and founder of Qatar’s judicial system. Sheikh Abdulla’s many achievements, including his position as Supreme Court Judge in Qatar, are celebrated with this naming. However, it is commonly known as Fanar or sometimes the spiral mosque.

It hosts a variety of activities including classes, exhibitions and tours. Non-Muslim visitors can attend Friday prayers conducted in English. Staff are more than willing to explain mosque etiquette and courses in the Islamic faith as well in Arabic are available.

Useful information

Address

Doha, Qatar

Website

Opening times

Tuesday 7:15AM–1:15PM

Wednesday 7:15AM–1:15PM

Thursday 7:15AM–1:15PM

Friday Closed

Saturday Closed

Sunday 7:15AM–1:15PM

Monday 7:15AM–1:15PM

Not to miss

التخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

تجارب لا تفوّت

استكشف مركز قطر الثقافي الإسلامي - فنار

العقيدة الإسلامية والثقافة القطرية ومجتمع الدوحة.

الموقع التراثي

الفنار

يعد مبنى الفنار الحلزوني أحد المعالم الأكثر شهرةً في الدوحة ويقع في منطقة مركزية بالقرب من سوق واقف ومتحف الفن الإسلامي..  ويمكن رؤيته من مسافة بعيدة، خاصة في المساء عندما تُبرز الإضاءة التصميم الفريد لهذه التحفة المعمارية منقطعة النظير. وقد كان الفنار يوماً ما أكبر المساجد في قطر.

كيف يمكن الوصول إلى هناك؟

  • يقع مبنى الفنار في منطقة الكورنيش بالقرب من سوق واقف.

الفنار

العنوان

الدوحة، قطر

الهاتف

+974 4444 7444

بينما لا يزال الفنار مسجداً، فإنه يستضيف أيضاً أنشطة دينية وتعليمية واجتماعية. ويُمكن للزوار في المركز الثقافي الاستمتاع باحتساء القهوة التقليدية والتعرّف على إيقاع الحياة القطري وتراث الدولة وثقافتها.  

أبرز معالم زيارتك

  • التعاليم الإسلامية

  • جولة إرشادية

  • صلاة الجمعة، باللغة الإنجليزية

سُمي مركز "فنار" باسم مركز الشيخ عبدالله بن زيد آل محمود الثقافي الإسلامي، عالم ومؤسس النظام القضائي القطري. يُحتفى بإنجازات الشيخ عبدالله العديدة، بما في ذلك منصبه بصفته قاضي المحكمة العليا في قطر، بإطلاق هذه التسمية. ومع ذلك، يُعرف المركز باسم فنار أو أحياناً المسجد الحلزوني.

يستضيف المركز العديد من الأنشطة، بما في ذلك الفصول والمعارض والجولات. ويُمكن للزوار من غير المسلمين حضور صلاة الجمعة المترجمة إلى الإنجليزية، وهناك هيئة على أتم استعدادها لشرح آداب المساجد وتقديم دورات في العقيدة الإسلامية كما توجد دورات باللغة العربية.

معلومات مفيدة

العنوان

Doha, Qatar

الموقع الإلكتروني

الهاتف

مواعيد العمل

Tuesday 7:15AM–1:15PM

Wednesday 7:15AM–1:15PM

Thursday 7:15AM–1:15PM

Friday Closed

Saturday Closed

Sunday 7:15AM–1:15PM

Monday 7:15AM–1:15PM

تجارب لا يسعُك تفويتها