Skip to main content

Things To Do

Spend the day at Al Shahaniya

Enjoy the thrills and excitement of the sport of sheikhs

Professional camel racing began in Qatar in 1972, and the sport centers around the Al Shahaniya. Here, domestic and international tournaments take place every Friday, from October to February, with major events such as HH the Emir’s Main Race held in March and April.

Remote-controlled, toddler-sized robot jockeys, clothed in colourful racing silks delight locals and tourists, as they ride the lanky mammals across the sandy track. Racing camels can run at speeds of up to 40 mph in short sprints and may continue at 30 mph for as long as an hour. The operator applies the whip antenna, commands the jockey to pull on the reins, and shouts encouragement to the camel via a built-in speaker.

Around the racetrack there is a virtual camel city where guests are welcome to visit the stables. Although shaded seating is available in the grandstand, visitors can do as locals do and follow races by driving their car along the road that runs parallel to the track. 

Even when there are no races, guests are welcome to stop by any morning and watch the camels training.

A visit to Al Shahaniya offers a unique opportunity to admire the best groomed and some of the most expensive camels in the world. 

Highlights of your visit

  • Driving alongside the race

  • Stables

  • Photo opportunities

Camel racing is so popular in Qatar that there is a TV channel dedicated to the transmission of races.

Useful information

Address

Ash-Shahaniyah, Doha

Website

Not to miss

التخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

تجارب لا تفوّت

استمتع بقضاء اليوم في الشحانية

جرّب الإثارة والمتعة في رياضة الشيوخ

بدأت سباقات الهجن الاحترافية في قطر عام 1972، وتتمركز هذه الرياضة حول منطقة الشحانية. هنا تقام البطولات المحلية والدولية يوم الجمعة من كل أسبوع، في الفترة من أكتوبر وحتى فبراير، وتُعقد الفعاليات الكبرى مثل السباق الرئيسي لسمو الأمير في مارس وأبريل.

يُضفي الفرسان الآليون، بحجم الأطفال الصغار الذين يتم التحكم فيهم عن بعد ويرتدون حرير السباق الملون، أجواءً من السعادة والمرح على السكان المحليين والسياح، أثناء ركوبهم الثدييات النحيلة عبر المضمار الرملي. ويمكن للهجن المشارِكة في السباق الركض بسرعات تصل إلى 40 ميلاً في الساعة في السباقات القصيرة، ويمكن أن تواصل الركض بسرعة 30 ميلاً في الساعة لمدة تصل إلى ساعة. ويقوم المشغل باستخدام السوط الهوائي، ويأمر الفارس بسحب اللجام، ويصرخ لتشجيع الهجن عبر مكبر صوت مدمج.

توجد مدينة هجن افتراضية حول مضمار السباق يتم فيها الترحيب بالضيوف لزيارة حظائر الهجن. وعلى الرغم من توفر المقاعد المظللة في المدرّج، يمكن للزوار القيام بما يفعله السكان المحليون ومتابعة السباقات من خلال قيادة سياراتهم على طول الطريق الموازي للمضمار. 

أبرز معالم زيارتك

  • القيادة على طول مضمار السباق

  • حظائر الهجن

  • فرص التقاط الصور

يحظى سباق الهجن بشعبية كبيرة في قطر؛ حيث توجد قناة تلفزيونية مخصصة لبث سباقات الهجن.

معلومات مفيدة

العنوان

الشحانية ، الدوحة

الموقع الإلكتروني

الهاتف

تجارب لا يسعُك تفويتها