Skip to main content

Things To Do

Flamingo migration in Qatar

Qatar hosts a unique selection of wildlife experiences. A natural habitat to the Arabian Oryx and Gazzelles, Qatar is also constant to some unbelievable marine and bird wildlife migrations that are highly recommended.

Every year during the winter season, hundreds of flamingos flock to Qatar’s shores on their annual migration from Europe and Siberia to Africa. From November to April, you can catch a glimpse of the Greater flamingo, the largest living species in the flamingo family, averaging 110–150 cm tall and weighing 2–4 kg, at various spots along Qatar’s 563-kilometre coastline.

In recent years, ornithologists have discovered that the Al Thakira Mangrove Forest, one of Qatar’s natural wonders, is a favorite resting spot for these elegant birds.  In these wetlands, they are able to wade in shallow, salty waters, and can easily feed on fish and other crustaceans. Approximately 50 kilometers north of Doha, near the city of Al Khor, Al Thakira is one of Qatar's oldest and largest mangroves reserves, rich in biodiversity and a green oasis in an otherwise desert area.

The dense mangroves at Al Thakira offer a protected environment for wildlife and are an ideal spot for nature lovers. One of the few trees that can grow and thrive in the high levels of salinity that characterise the Arabian Gulf, Qatar’s mangroves are teeming with life, attracting fish and crabs, birds and other migratory birds including gulls, cormorants and waders, geese, mallard and teal.

Flamingo migration in Qatar

Just around the corner from Al Thakira, and another popular resting spot for flamingos on their stopover journey, is Al Khor Island, also known as bin Ghanem or Purple Island.  Once a prominent site for dye production, particularly the purple dye for which it earned its moniker, the island formerly served as a temporary campsite for fishermen or pearl divers as early as the beginning of the 2nd millennium BCE.

Kayaking and SUP (Standup paddle board) rentals are available from several tour operators in the area and can be booked in advance, with outfitters offering both sunrise and sunset trips for individuals and groups. Seasoned guides accompany paddlers, pointing out the area’s unique flora and fauna to the untrained eye.

Visitors can make the most of their kayaking experience with an overnight camping trip, where they will get a taste of Qatar’s renown hospitality.  Camping in traditional Bedouin tents under starry skies, the excursions include breakfast and dinner, an African Drumming show and sunrise yoga.

                                                                 365 Adventures and Blue Pearl Experience are local tour operators that provide this activity.

Just around the corner from Al Thakira, and another popular resting spot for flamingos on their stopover journey, is Al Khor Island, also known as bin Ghanem or Purple Island.  Once a prominent site for dye production, particularly the purple dye for which it earned its moniker, the island formerly served as a temporary campsite for fishermen or pearl divers as early as the beginning of the 2nd millennium BCE.

Kayaking and SUP (Standup paddle board) rentals are available from several tour operators in the area and can be booked in advance, with outfitters offering both sunrise and sunset trips for individuals and groups. Seasoned guides accompany paddlers, pointing out the area’s unique flora and fauna to the untrained eye.

Animal Facts

  • Height

    4 - 5 ft. tall

  • Habitat

    Lagoon / Mudflat

  • Diet

    Omnivore

Where to find them?

Useful information

Address

Al Wakrah

Website

Phone

The Al Thakira Mangroves, Al Khor Island and the Purple Island are compelling locations for flamingo spotting in and around Qatar. 

Gallery

  • Flamingo migration in Qatar
  • Flamingo migration in Qatar
  • Flamingo migration in Qatar

What other wildlife enthusiasts say?

The flamingos create a dream-like scenery for nature lovers and photographers

Flamingo migration in Qatar
Rizwan Travel Expert

Continue to explore

Things to do

demand space sticky

التخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

تجارب لا تفوّت

هجرة طيور النحام في قطر

تتمتع قطر بمجموعة فريدة من تجارب الحياة البرية؛ إذ تعتبر قطر موطناً طبيعياً للمها العربي والغزال، كما توجد بها بعض الهجرات البرية الخاصة بالأحياء البحرية والطيور التي لا تصدق والتي يوصى بشدة بمشاهدتها.

تتدفق المئات من طيور النحام في كل عام خلال فصل الشتاء إلى شواطئ قطر في طريق هجرتها السنوية من أوروبا وسيبيريا إلى إفريقيا. وخلال الفترة من نوفمبر إلى أبريل، يمكنك إلقاء نظرة على طائر النحام الكبير، وهو أكبر الأنواع الحية في عائلة طيور النحام، ويبلغ متوسط طوله من 110 إلى 150 سم، ويبلغ وزنه من 2 إلى 4 كجم في مواقع مختلفة على طول الخط الساحلي لقطر البالغ 563 كم.

في السنوات الأخيرة، اكتشف علماء الطيور أن غابات القرم بالذخيرة، وهي إحدى العجائب الطبيعية في قطر، تمثل مكاناً مفضلاً تستريح فيه هذه الطيور الأنيقة.  ففي هذه الأراضي الرطبة، يمكنها الخوض في المياه الضحلة والمالحة، ويمكنها بسهولة أن تتغذى على الأسماك والقشريات الأخرى. وتقع الذخيرة على بُعد 50 كم تقريباً شمال الدوحة، بالقرب من مدينة الخور، وهي واحدة من أقدم وأكبر محميات القرم في قطر، وتُعد غنية بالتنوع الحيوي وواحة خضراء في منطقة صحراوية.

توفر أشجار القرم الكثيفة في الذخيرة بيئة محمية للحياة البرية وتعتبر مكاناً مثالياً لعشاق الطبيعة. وتمثل أشجار القرم في قطر إحدى الأشجار القليلة التي يمكن أن تنمو وتزدهر في مستويات الملوحة العالية التي تميّز الخليج العربي، ومن ثم فهي تعجّ بالحياة؛ حيث تجذب الأسماك وسرطان البحر والطيور وغيرها من الطيور المهاجرة بما في ذلك النوارس والغاقيات والخواضات والأوز والبط البري والبط النهري الصغير.

هجرة طيور النحام في قطر

تقع جزيرة الخور بالقرب من الذخيرة وموقع استراحة آخر شهير تنتشر فيه طيور النحام في رحلة توقفها، وتُعرف الجزيرة أيضاً باسم بن غانم أو الجزيرة الأرجوانية.  وكانت الجزيرة ذات يوم موقعاً مشهوراً لإنتاج الأصباغ، ولا سيما الصبغة الأرجوانية التي اكتسبت بسببها لقبها، وكانت تُمثل سابقاً موقع تخييم مؤقت للصيادين أو غواصي اللؤلؤ في وقتٍ مبكر من بداية الألفية الثانية قبل الميلاد.

تتوفر خدمات ركوب الكاياك والألواح المخصصة للتجديف واقفاً من خلال العديد من منظمي الرحلات السياحية في المنطقة ويمكن حجزها مسبقاً، حيث تعرض متاجر المستلزمات ما لديها للأفراد والمجموعات لقضاء رحلات في وقت شروق الشمس وغروبها. ويرافق المرشدون المحنكون المُجدفين، لتوضيح طبيعة الحياة النباتية والحيوانية الفريدة في المنطقة للأشخاص غير المطلعين.

يمكن للزوار تحقيق أقصى استفادة من تجربة ركوب الكاياك من خلال القيام برحلة تخييم ليلية، حيث يمكنهم الاستمتاع بخدمات الضيافة القطرية الشهيرة. وعند التخييم في الخيام البدوية التقليدية تحت السماء المليئة بالنجوم، ستشمل النزهات تناول الإفطار والعشاء وعرض الطبول الأفريقية وممارسة اليوجا في وقت شروق الشمس.

                                                                 تُعد شركة 365 أدفنتشرز وشركة بلو بيرل إكسبرينس هما منظما الرحلات المحليان اللذان يقدمان هذا النشاط.

تقع جزيرة الخور بالقرب من الذخيرة وموقع استراحة آخر شهير تنتشر فيه طيور النحام في رحلة توقفها، وتُعرف الجزيرة أيضاً باسم بن غانم أو الجزيرة الأرجوانية.  وكانت الجزيرة ذات يوم موقعاً مشهوراً لإنتاج الأصباغ، ولا سيما الصبغة الأرجوانية التي اكتسبت بسببها لقبها، وكانت تُمثل سابقاً موقع تخييم مؤقت للصيادين أو غواصي اللؤلؤ في وقتٍ مبكر من بداية الألفية الثانية قبل الميلاد.

تتوفر خدمات ركوب الكاياك والألواح المخصصة للتجديف واقفاً من خلال العديد من منظمي الرحلات السياحية في المنطقة ويمكن حجزها مسبقاً، حيث تعرض متاجر المستلزمات ما لديها للأفراد والمجموعات لقضاء رحلات في وقت شروق الشمس وغروبها. ويرافق المرشدون المحنكون المُجدفين، لتوضيح طبيعة الحياة النباتية والحيوانية الفريدة في المنطقة للأشخاص غير المطلعين.

حقائق عن الحيوانات

  • الطول

    يتراوح بين 4 إلى 5 أقدام

  • موطن

    البحيرات/السهول الطينية

  • الحمية

    آكلو النباتات والحيوانات

أين تجدهم؟

معلومات مفيدة

العنوان

الوكرة

الموقع الإلكتروني

الهاتف

تُعد غابات القرم بالذخيرة وجزيرة الخور والجزيرة الأرجوانية مواقع جذابة لمشاهدة طيور النحام في قطر وأرجائها. 

المعرض

  • هجرة طيور النحام في قطر
  • هجرة طيور النحام في قطر
  • هجرة طيور النحام في قطر

ما الذي يقوله عشاق الحياة البرية الآخرون؟

تعمل طيور النحام على خلق مشهدٍ يشبه الحلم لعشاق الطبيعة والمصوّرين

هجرة طيور النحام في قطر
رضوان خبير سياحي

واصل رحلة الاستكشاف

تجارب لا تفوّت