Skip to main content

Things To Do

Falcon - the national bird of Qatar

Hook beaked and sharp visioned, Falcons are birds of prey, recognized as a species of the hawk family with strong talons. Undoubtedly a crucial part of the rich heritage and culture of Qatar, Falcons are highly honoured and celebrated as the national bird of the nation.

They are fierce diurnal birds of the avian world and hunt efficiently during daylight hours. With almost 8 times better vision than the sharpest of human eyesight, falcons silently swoop down as soon as they’ve spotted their prey. The qualities of this wild bird launched the tradition of hunting fresh meat to augment the nutrition of desert nomads, over 5000 years ago in Iran and was spread across the Middle Eastern countries over centuries. The Bedouins introduced the art of this tradition to the State of Qatar.

Falcon - the national bird of Qatar

Falconry is a historic art from the times of the Bedouin tribes where the raptor is highly trained and used to hunt down migratory birds for food. The bond created between the bird and its trainer always results in a great hunting partnership. This solitary bird educates patience, endurance, self-reliance, and valour among other things to its falconers.

Animal Facts

  • Speed

    Up to 322 KM/H

  • Class

    Aves

  • Diet

    Carnivore

Falcons are popular raptors in this part of the world and are associated with wealth and nobility, for owning a healthy falcon is an affluent and time-consuming proposition. These formidable hunters generally have a lifespan of 12-15 years and migrate into the country during the spring. 

Six variant species of Falcons that have distinctive characteristics:

1.

Amur Falcon

The amur falcon is famed for its fascinating migrations it endeavours across the equator for approximately 22,000 km.

2.

Lanner Falcon

They’re known for the striped feathers and for a small notch called tooth in their beaks.

3.

Saker Falcon

The Saker Falcon is the second largest falcon that is known for its beauty and strength.

4.

Peregrine Falcon

The Peregrine falcon is the fastest recorded animal in the world with a flight speed of up to 389km per hour.

5.

Barbary Falcon

Slightly smaller in size, the Barbary falcon is best known for its sharp and fishing hook-like beaks.

6.

Sooty Falcon

Slim and long-winged, the sooty falcons are well known for their long-distance migrations.


Of the list, Saker and Peregrine are the more popular hunters that are conventionally trapped, tamed, and prepared for the traditional quest that are sold at the falcon markets for prices ranging from QAR 30,000 to over a million Qatari riyal.

To experience the authenticity of this tradition and take a closer look at the Qatari Falconry culture visit the Falcon Souq at Souq Waqif while on your holiday in Doha. It makes the perfect place to enjoy spotting falcons, photographing them up close, and even holding them under the supervision of professionals. Closer to the area is also the Falcon hospital run by the government, which tends and cures injured falcons. You are likely to see temporarily blinded or hooded falcons which is a practice pursued as part of the taming process to keep them calm until they’re used to their surrounding or falconer.

The falconry and hunting season commences in October and visitors can make the most of this experience as spectators to learn more about the deeply-rooted national obsession of falcons and the traditional falconry.

Where to find them?

Useful information

Address

Souq waqif, Doha, Qatar

Website

Price range

$$

The Falcon Souq in Qatar and its significance to the people of Qatar make it a compelling spot for locals and visitors alike.

Gallery

  • Falcon - the national bird of Qatar
  • Falcon - the national bird of Qatar
  • Falcon - the national bird of Qatar

What other wildlife enthusiasts say?

You can tell how much Qataris value their falcons and the traditions of falconry by the number of facilities they’ve built to accommodate falcon souqs, hospitals and more. A fascinating fixation.

Falcon - the national bird of Qatar
John Traveller

التخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

تجارب لا تفوّت

الصقر - الطائر الوطني في قطر

تعد الصقور، ذات المنقار الذي يشبه الخطاف والرؤية الحادة، من الطيور الجارحة، وتُعرف بأنها نوع من فصيلة الصقور ذات المخالب القوية. ولا شك في أن الصقور جزء مهم من تراث وثقافة قطر الغنيّة، وتحظى بمكانة وتقدير بالغين باعتبارها الطائر الوطني للبلاد.

تُعد الصقور طيور نهارية شرسة في عالم الطيور ولديها قدرة كبيرة على المطاردة بكفاءة خلال ساعات النهار. وتتمتع برؤية أكثر حدةً بحوالي 8 مرات من الرؤية الأكثر حدة لدى الإنسان، وتنقضّ الصقور بصمت بمجرد أن تجد فريستها. وكانت السمات التي يتمتع بها هذا الطائر البري هي السبب وراء ظهور تقاليد صيد اللحوم الطازجة لزيادة غذاء بدو الصحراء منذ أكثر من 5000 عام في إيران، وقد انتشرت هذه التقاليد في جميع أنحاء دول الشرق الأوسط على مدى قرون. واستحدث البدو هذه التقاليد في دولة قطر.

الصقر - الطائر الوطني في قطر

تُعد الصقارة فناً تاريخياً يرجع إلى عصور القبائل البدوية؛ حيث تُدرَّب الطيور الجارحة على مستوى عالٍ وتُستخدم لصيد الطيور المهاجرة للحصول على الغذاء. ودائماً ما ينتج عن العلاقة التي تنشأ بين الطائر ومدرّبه شراكة صيد عظيمة. وهذا الطائر الانعزالي يعلّم مربيه الصبر والتحمل والاعتماد على النفس والشجاعة وغير ذلك.

حقائق عن الحيوانات

  • السرعة

    ما يصل إلى 322 كم/س

  • الفئة

    الطيور

  • الحمية

    آكلات اللحوم

تعتبر الصقور من الطيور الجارحة الشهيرة في هذا الجزء من العالم وترتبط بالثروة والفخامة، لأن امتلاك صقر صحي يُعد خياراً مترفاً ومستهلكاً للوقت. ويتراوح عمر هذه الصقور القوية التي تُستخدم في الصيد بين 12 و15 عاماً وتهاجر إلى البلاد خلال فصل الربيع. 

ستة أنواع مختلفة من الصقور لها خصائص مميزة:

1.

صقر عمورية

يشتهر صقر عمورية بهجراته المذهلة التي ينطلق بها عبر خط الاستواء بطول 22 ألف كم تقريباً.

2.

الصقر الوكري

تُعرف بالريش المخطط وبحزّ صغير يسمى الأسنان في مناقيرها.

3.

الصقر الحر

الصقر الحر هو ثاني أكبر صقر معروف بجماله وقوته.

4.

صقر شاهين

صقر شاهين هو أسرع حيوان مسجل في العالم تصل سرعة طيرانه إلى 389 كم في الساعة.

5.

الصقر البربري

يُعد الصقر البربري أصغر حجماً إلى حدٍ ما، ويُعرف بمنقاره الحاد الذي يشبه خطاف الصيد.

6.

صقر الغروب

تتميز صقور الغروب بالنحافة والأجنحة الطويلة وتشتهر بالهجرة لمسافات طويلة.


من بين صقور هذه القائمة، يُعد الصقر الحر وصقر شاهين صقرا الصيد الأكثر شهرة اللذَين عادة ما يتم حبسهما وترويضهما وإعدادهما للطلب التقليدي للبيع في أسواق الصقور بأسعار تتراوح من 30 ألف ريال قطري إلى أكثر من مليون ريال قطري.

لتجربة أصالة هذا التقليد والتعرف عن كثب على ثقافة الصقارة القطرية، ليس عليك سوى زيارة سوق الصقور في سوق واقف أثناء قضاء العطلة في الدوحة. فهو المكان المثالي للاستمتاع بملاحظة الصقور، وتصويرها عن قرب، وكذلك الإمساك بها تحت إشراف متخصصين. ويوجد بالقرب من المنطقة مستشفى الصقور الذي تديره الحكومة ويقوم على رعاية الصقور المصابة وعلاجها. ومن المحتمل أن ترى صقوراً معمّاة أو مقنّعة بشكل مؤقت وهي ممارسة مُتّبعة كجزء من عملية الترويض للحفاظ على هدوء الصقر حتى يعتاد على الأجواء المحيطة أو على مربي الصقور.

يبدأ موسم الصقارة في شهر أكتوبر، ويمكن للزوار الاستفادة إلى أقصى حد من هذه التجربة كمشاهدين لمعرفة المزيد عن الشغف الوطني الراسخ بالصقور وتقاليد الصقارة.

أين تجدهم؟

معلومات مفيدة

العنوان

الدوحة قطر, Souq waqif

الموقع الإلكتروني

الهاتف

نطاق السعر

$$

نظراً لمكانة سوق الصقور في قطر وأهميته بالنسبة إلى الشعب القطري، فإنه يُعد مكاناً جذاباً للسكان المحليين والزوار على حدٍ سواء.

المعرض

  • الصقر - الطائر الوطني في قطر
  • الصقر - الطائر الوطني في قطر
  • الصقر - الطائر الوطني في قطر

ما الذي يقوله عشاق الحياة البرية الآخرون؟

يمكنك معرفة مدى تقدير القطريين للصقور وتقاليد الصقارة من خلال عدد المرافق التي بنوها لاستيعاب أسواق الصقور والمستشفيات وغيرها. إنه ترسيخ رائع لهذه التقاليد.

الصقر - الطائر الوطني في قطر
جون مسافر