Skip to main content

Wildlife

Arabian Oryx

With long spear-like horns, sharp and contrasting markings laid, the Arabian Oryx, is one of four species of antelope that lives in harsh desert environment and is native to the Arabian Peninsula. The national animal of Qatar, Oryx.

An Arabian oryx is easily identified by its bright white coat (sparse fur) which reflects the sun's rays, broad hooves, allowing it to walk with relative ease in the sand along with the long, distinct, slightly curved horns employed by both male and female species. The oryx is known to be an animal of tremendous stamina that covers long distances by foot in the desert, at times clocking more than 70km during the night. 

The Arabian oryx has been considered an animal of beauty by the people of the Arabian Peninsula for centuries. With its oversized horns and elegant body, the antelope holds huge cultural significance in the Gulf. Being the largest antelope in the area it has a remarkable tenacity to survive in one of the most inhospitable natural environments in the world.

Arabian Oryx

Fortunately, the immense conservation measures taken by Qatar through what was known as Operation Oryx paved its way to breed a small plethora of these animals in captivity and was then kept in private collections until they were finally reintroduced into the wilderness in 1982. There are now close to 1000 species of the oryx that roam wild throughout the entire Arabian Peninsula, such as the Arabian oryx, the East African oryx and the Gemsbok to name a few.

The Al-Maha sanctuary also called the Arabian Oryx Sanctuary is where the breeding of oryxes in Qatar takes place and a tour of this sanctuary will help visitors understand and appreciate these elegant oryxes. 

Animal Facts

  • Class

    Mammals

  • Habitat

    Desert/scrubland

  • Diet

    Herbivore

  • Group size

    10 or fewer

Where to find them?

Useful information

Address

Ash-Shahaniyah 91042, Qatar

Website

The Arabian oryxes are keen-sighted and alert antelopes that defend themselves by lowering their heads pointing forward their sharp horns. 

Gallery

  • Arabian Oryx
  • Arabian Oryx

We're in love with the Arabian oryxes! 

Arabian Oryx
Clifton Kennedy Visitor

Continue to explore

Things to do

التخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

الحياة البرية

المها العربي

يعتبر حيوان المها العربي، ذو القرون الطويلة التي تشبه الرمح والعلامات الواضحة والمتباينة، هو واحد من أربعة أنواع من الظباء التي تعيش في بيئة صحراوية قاسية وموطنها الأصلي شبه الجزيرة العربية. إذ يعد المها الحيوان الوطني لدولة قطر.

يمكن التعرف بسهولة على حيوان المها العربي من خلال مظهره الأبيض الساطع (الفرو الخفيف) الذي يعكس أشعة الشمس، والحوافر العريضة التي تمكّنه من السير بسهولة نسبية في الرمال، إلى جانب القرون الطويلة والمميزة والمنحنية قليلاً التي تستخدمها الذكور والإناث على حدٍ سواء. ومن المعروف أن المها حيوان يتمتع بقدرة هائلة على المشي لمسافات طويلة في الصحراء؛ حيث يقطع أحياناً أكثر من 70 كم خلال الليل. 

لطالما كان سكان شبه الجزيرة العربية يعُدّون حيوان المها العربي رمزاً للجمال منذ قرون. وتحظى الظباء، بقرونها الضخمة وجسمها الأنيق، بأهمية ثقافية كبيرة في الخليج. ونظراً لكون حيوان المها أكبر الظباء حجماً في المنطقة، فإنه يتمتع بقوة تحمل كبيرة تُمكّنه من العيش في واحدة من البيئات الطبيعية الأكثر قسوة في العالم.

المها العربي

ولحسن الحظ، كان من ثمار التدابير الهائلة، التي اتخذتها قطر للحفاظ على المها، ما عُرف باسم عملية المها (إعادة توطين المها)، وقد مهّدت الطريق لتربية أعدادٍ لا يُستهان بها من هذه الحيوانات مع تقييد حريتها، وتم بعد ذلك الاحتفاظ بها في مجموعات خاصة حتى أُعيد إطلاقها أخيراً في البرية عام 1982. ويوجد حالياً ما يقرب من 1000 نوع من المها يجوب البرية في جميع أنحاء شبه الجزيرة العربية بأكملها، مثل المها العربي والمها الشرق أفريقي والمها الجنوب أفريقي وغيرها الكثير.

تُعرف محمية المها أيضاً باسم محمية المها العربي وهي المكان الذي تتكاثر فيه المها في قطر، وبعد الانطلاق في جولة في هذه المحمية، سيتمكن الزوار من فهم طبيعة هذه المها الأنيقة وتقدير أهميتها. 

حقائق عن الحيوانات

  • الفئة

    الثدييات

  • الموطن

    الأراضي الصحراوية/الشجيرية

  • الحمية

    آكلات العشب

  • حجم المجموعة

    10 أو أقل

أين تجدهم؟

معلومات مفيدة

العنوان

Ash-Shahaniyah 91042, Qatar

الموقع الإلكتروني

الهاتف

يُعد المها العربي من الظباء اليقظة ذات الرؤية الحادة وتدافع عن نفسها بخفض رأسها موجّهة قرونها الحادة إلى الأمام. 

المعرض

  • المها العربي
  • المها العربي

نحن نعشق المها العربي! 

المها العربي
كليفتون كينيدي زائر

واصل رحلة الاستكشاف

تجارب لا تفوّت