Skip to main content

Things To Do

Discover a different side of Qatar

Randy Santos, Chief Concierge at Mandarin Oriental, presents a fascinating side of Qatar.

Discover a different side of Qatar

My story

Before moving to Qatar, I researched all the GCC countries, wondering which was the best to move to. I read about Qatar's vision and decided that this was the one! I moved to Qatar in 2008, and feel that I truly belong here; the locals are so welcoming! My family and I feel safe and protected, as Qatar is one of the safest countries in the world with an excellent healthcare system.

Discover Qatar's hidden gems

My travel tips

Metro is the best way to get around, very easy to navigate, and most major tourist attractions have dedicated ultra-modern stations. A one-way metro fare costs just 2 QAR, single tickets can be bought from machines inside the stations.

Always carry your passport with you if you are planning to go out.

During Ramadan it is not allowed to eat or drink in public before Iftar time.

Doha shuts down on Friday mornings due to the morning prayers. Most restaurants and cafes are open during early morning, close at around 11:30 and open again at 1pm or 2pm. Make sure to check the timings for Malls or Museums before your visit.

What to do in a few days in Qatar

As dawn approaches, wake up to the beautiful Msheireb Downtown, the first sustainable downtown regeneration project that mixes elements of traditional heritage with the latest smart city technology, providing a unique experience. If you feel like grabbing a bite, I suggest that you have breakfast at Empire Cofee.

Sign yourselves up for a Desert Safari Tour! One of Qatar’s finest treasures, Khor Al Adaid or ‘Inland Sea’ is bound to take your breath away with its picturesque landscape decked with golden sand dunes. What’s a desert safari without some dune bashing action? Get on board a 4×4 vehicle for your very own ride through the sand dunes.

If you’re a fan of extreme sports, have a go at sand skiing & sand boarding, quad biking and paragliding. Feel the adrenaline rush as you glide through the air gracefully on your parasail, or speed down the sand dunes on your quad bike. If you’re looking for something milder, go for a camel ride in the desert and watch the sun set into the far horizon.

As the day comes to a close, feast on a traditional BBQ meal in the desert under the stars. Lose yourself in the vastness of the desert as you sit by the bonfire as the music serenades you into the night. While you’re there, you may also trek along the Sealine coast! When you’re done with your exploration, dig in to a sumptuous meal at the Sealine Beach Resort.

Alternatively...

Explore the city’s modern side. Explore Katara Cultural Village, north of West Bay; it  is a great place to stroll, with cafes, restaurants, and (especially on weekends) plenty of outdoor entertainment.

In a country where literacy is almost universal and education is free (and which hosts several international university campuses in a large “Education City”), it’s not surprising that the country has a state-of-the-art National Library, which offers tours several times a week. The library has a huge collection of books, both in English and Arabic and also a heritage collection of historic books in Arabic that you can tour. But the space, itself, is breathtaking.

After the library, head to Villagio Mall, where you can walk around and have lunch at one of the many restaurants.

After lunch, you have a few different options depending on your interests. If you like horses, you probably know that Arabian horses are among the most beautiful equines, smaller than many other breeds, but bred for either racing or beauty. There’s a lively horse culture in Qatar. One way to get a taste is to join a guided tour of Doha’s magnificent equestrian center Al Shaqab. The facilities are amazing and extensive, including vast performance arenas, state-of-the-art air-conditioned stables, and medical facilities.

If you’re more of an art lover, consider a trip to Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, which houses an enviable permanent collection of contemporary Arab artists on the grounds of the Qatar Foundation. Splurge for your final meal. If you want the quintessential Doha experience, then you must try Al Hubara Restaurant at the Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel; it’s the grandest buffet you’ll likely ever see, and many nights are themed extravaganzas. Reservations are a must, and there’s also an a la carte menu.

 

Useful information

Address

Al Wakrah

Website

Phone

Not to miss

demand space sticky

Skip to main content

تجارب لا تفوّت

اكتشف الجانب الآخر لقطر

يكشف راندي سانتوس، مدير خدمات النزلاء في فندق ماندارين أورينتال، عن أحد الجوانب الرائعة لقطر

اكتشف الجانب الآخر لقطر

قصتي

قبل أن أنتقل إلى قطر، نظرت في جميع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي لأحدد أفضل دولة يمكنني الانتقال إليها. وقرأت عن رؤية قطر، فكان قراري أن قطر هي الاختيار الأمثل، ومن ثم، انتقلت إليها عام 2008، وأصبحت أشعر بأنني أنتمي حقاً إلى هذا البلد؛ فالسكان المحليون يتسمون بحفاوة الترحيب. وأشعر أنا وعائلتي بالأمان والحماية، حيث تُعتبر قطر واحدة من الدول الأكثر أماناً في العالم وتوفر نظام رعاية صحية ممتاز.

اكتشف الجواهر الخفية في قطر

نصائحي بشأن السفر

يُعد المترو أفضل وسيلة للانتقال، كما يسهل التنقل فيه للغاية، وتشتمل معظم المعالم السياحية على محطات مخصصة حديثة للغاية. ولا تكلّفك أجرة المترو ذهاباً سوى ريالين قطريين، ويمكن شراء التذاكر الفردية من الآلات المتوفرة داخل المحطات.

احرص دائماً على اصطحاب جواز السفر معك إذا كنت تخطط للخروج.

خلال شهر رمضان، لا ينبغي تناول الطعام أو الشراب في الأماكن العامة قبل موعد الإفطار.

تُغلق الدوحة صباح الجمعة لأداء صلاة الجمعة. وتُفتح معظم المطاعم والمقاهي في الصباح الباكر حتى موعد الإغلاق الساعة 11:30 تقريباً ثم تُعيد فتح أبوابها الساعة 1 ظهراً أو 2 عصراً. فاحرص على التحقق من مواعيد عمل مراكز التسوق والمتاحف قبل الزيارة.

ما يمكنك فعله خلال أيام قليلة في قطر

مع اقتراب بزوغ الفجر، استمتع بالاستيقاظ على الإطلالات الرائعة في مشيرب قلب الدوحة، أول مشروع مستدام لتجديد وسط المدينة يمزج بين عناصر التراث التقليدي وأحدث تقنيات المدن الذكية، مما يوفر تجربة فريدة من نوعها. إذا كنت ترغب في تناول وجبة خفيفة، فتوجّه إلى إمبراطورية القهوة لتناول وجبة الإفطار.

سجّل اسمك في رحلة السفاري الصحراوية! يعد خور العديد أو "البحر الداخلي" واحداً من أرقى الكنوز التي تتميز بها قطر؛ حيث يخطف الأنظار بما يوفره مناظر طبيعية خلابة مزيّنة بالكثبان الرملية الذهبية. تفقد رحلات السفاري الصحراوية مُتعتها دون الإثارة التي يُضفيها ركوب الكثبان الرملية، أليس كذلك؟ استمتع بركوب سيارة دفع رباعي مخصصة لك وانطلق عبر الكثبان الرملية.

إذا كنت من عشاق الرياضات الخطرة، فلا تفوّت تجربة التزلج على الرمال وركوب الدراجات الرباعية والطيران المظلي. واستمتع بالإثارة أثناء الانزلاق بسرعة في الهواء بالمظلة، أو تزلّج ببطء على الكثبان الرملية بدراجتك الرباعية. وإذا كنت تبحث عن شيء أكثر اعتدالاً، فانطلق في رحلة ركوب الجمال في الصحراء واستمتع بمشاهدة غروب الشمس في الأفق البعيد.

مع اقتراب نهاية اليوم، يمكنك الاستمتاع بوجبة شواء تقليدية في الصحراء على ضوء النجوم، ومعايشة حياة الصحراء الشاسعة أثناء الجلوس إلى جوار النيران والاستمتاع بالموسيقى في هدوء الليل. وأثناء تواجدك هناك، يمكنك أيضاً الانطلاق في جولة على طول ساحل سيلين! عندما تنتهي من رحلة الاستكشاف، تلذّذ بتناول وجبة فاخرة في منتجع شاطئ سيلين.

بدلاً من ذلك…

استكشف الجانب العصري للمدينة، في  الحي الثقافي كتارا، الذي يقع شمال الخليج الغربي، ويمثل  وجهة رائعة للتنزّه، مع الاستمتاع بالمقاهي والمطاعم، إلى جانب العديد من وسائل الترفيه في الهواء الطلق (خاصة في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع).

في بلد يكاد يكون خالياً من الأمية ويوفر التعليم بالمجان (ويضم العديد من الجامعات الدولية في "مدينة تعليمية" كبيرة)، ليس من الغريب أن تكون هناك مكتبة وطنيةحديثة، توفر جولات لعدة مرات في الأسبوع؛ حيث تحتوي على مجموعة ضخمة من الكتب باللغتين الإنجليزية والعربية، بالإضافة إلى مجموعة تراثية من الكتب التاريخية باللغة العربية التي يمكنك التعرّف عليها، ويُضفي المكان نفسه شعوراً مذهلاً بالإثارة.

بعد زيارة المكتبة، توجه إلى مول فيلاجيو؛ حيث يمكنك التنزه وتناول الغداء في واحد من المطاعم المتعددة الرائعة.

بعد تناول الغداء، سيكون لديك بعض الخيارات التي تختلف تبعاً لاهتماماتك. فإذا كنت من محبي ركوب الخيل، فربما تكون على دراية بأن الخيول العربية من أجمل الخيول، وأصغر من السلالات العديدة الأخرى، ولكنها تُربى إما للسباق أو للاستمتاع بجمالها. وتتميز قطر بثقافة خيول مفعمة بالحيوية. ويمكنك معايشة هذه الثقافة الرائعة عن طريق الانضمام إلى جولة بقيادة مرشد في  الشقب، أحد مراكز الفروسية الرائعة في الدوحة ويشتمل على مرافق مذهلة وواسعة، بما في ذلك ساحات ركوب الخيل الشاسعة والإسطبلات الحديثة المكيفة والمرافق الطبية.

إذا كنت من عشاق الفنون، فيُمكنك الانطلاق في رحلة إلى متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث، الذي يضم مجموعة دائمة مثيرة من الفنانين العرب المعاصرين في مؤسسة قطر. استمتع بالفخامة في وجبتك النهائية. إذا كنت ترغب في تجربة الدوحة المثالية، فلا تفوّت الاستمتاع بتناول الطعام في مطعم الحبارى بمنتجع وفندق مؤتمرات شيراتون جراند الدوحة، فهو أفخم بوفيه يمكن أن تراه على الإطلاق، ويقدّم عروضاً رائعة في العديد من الليالي. لا بدّ من الحجز مسبقاً، كما يُقدم المطعم قائمة طعام انتقائية.

 

Useful information

Address

Al Wakrah

Website

Phone

تجارب لا يسعُك تفويتها