Skip to main content

Things To Do

Purple Island

Located in the northeast of Qatar, Al Khor or Purple Island, is a must-visit spot in the country. An hour drive from Doha, near Al Khor city, the island is famous for its natural beauty, exotic flora and fauna and pristine environment; the ideal spot for a day trip for the whole family.

The island has been a dye production site for several years thus its name; the colour produced there was purple. However, there’s another version why Al Khor island is called purple; some owe it to the purple-hued flowers that grow in the island.

If you’re planning a visit, the best time to do so is between November to February as the heat and sun will be milder this time of the year and you will enjoy the various activities offered more pleasantly.

The island’s spectacular natural beauty makes it the ideal place to bird watch, walk in nature, spot a variety of marine animals, try kayaking though the mangroves or cross the wooden bridge that connects the island with small hills and Purple Island Beach.

Keep in mind that there are no facilities on the island nor a shaded place so be prepared accordingly. Bring your own supplies, hat or shade of any kind, appropriate footwear to walk around and of course, leave no trace behind; pick up any trash and take them with you before leaving.

Not to miss

تخطى الى المحتوى الرئيسي

تجارب لا تفوّت

الجزيرة الأرجوانية

يُعد الخور أو الجزيرة الأرجوانية بقعةً لا يسعك تفويتها عند زيارتك البلاد، وتقع الجزيرة في شمال شرق قطر على بُعد ساعة بالسيارة من الدوحة، بالقرب من مدينة الخور، وهي جزيرة تشتهر بجمالها الطبيعي وحياتها النباتية والحيوانية العجيبة وبيئتها الأصلية؛ وتُعد البقعة المثالية لاستمتاع جميع أفراد العائلة بقضاء رحلة نهارية.

كانت الجزيرة قلعةً لصناعة الصبغة لسنواتٍ عدة ومن هنا استمدت اسمها؛ حيث كان يُصنع هناك اللون الأرجواني؛ ولكن، ثمّة رواية أخرى حول سبب تسمية جزيرة الخور بهذا الاسم "الجزيرة الأرجوانية"؛ حيث يذكر البعض أنه يعود إلى الزهور ذات اللون الأرجواني التي تنمو في الجزيرة.

إذا كنت تُخطط لزيارتها، يتمثل أفضل وقت لذلك في الفترة بين نوفمبر وفبراير حيث تكون درجة الحرارة والشمس أكثر اعتدالاً في هذا الوقت من العام وستستمتع أكثر بالأنشطة المختلفة المعروضة.

تُعد الجزيرة، بفضل جمالها الطبيعي الخلاب، وجهة مثالية لمشاهدة الطيور أو التجول والاستمتاع بالطبيعة أو اكتشاف مجموعة متنوعة من الحيوانات البحرية أو تجربة ركوب الكاياك عبر غابات القرم أو عبور الجسر الخشبي الذي يربط الجزيرة بتلالٍ صغيرة وشاطئ الجزيرة الأرجوانية.

ضع في اعتبارك أنه لا توجد على الجزيرة مرافق أو مكاناً يُستظل به، لذلك، تجهّز وأحضر معك لوازمك الخاصة، وقبعة أو أي شيء يُستظل به، وحذاء مناسب للتجول هناك وبالطبع، لا تترك وراءك أي أثر؛ والتقط أي قمامة وخذها معك قبل مغادرة المكان.

تجارب لا يسعُك تفويتها

demand space sticky