Skip to main content

Things To Do

National Museum of Qatar

Interconnected galleries take visitors on a visual journey through Qatar, telling the story of the country, from the pre-historic to the modern era.  

National Museum of Qatar

Designed by Pritzker Prize-winning architect Jean Nouvel, the National Museum of Qatar draws inspiration from and recreates the naturally occurring crystal formations known as the desert rose. Built around Sheikh Abdullah bin Jassim Al-Thani’s original palace, and the seat of government for 25 years, the National Museum of Qatar gives voice to Qatar’s heritage whilst celebrating its future. It spans a whopping 430,500 square feet. 

How to get there?

  • The National Museum of Qatar is easily accessible via car or a taxi (Uber is widely used, alternatively Karwa or Careem). The distance from Hamad International Airport is approximately 15 minutes. 

  • The nearest metro station is National Museum, Gold line.

National Museum of Qatar

Address

Museum Park Street. Off the Doha Corniche

Phone

+974 4452 5555

Website

https://www.nmoq.org.qa

Tickets

  • Adult admission QAR 50
  • University student admission (with valid ID) QAR 25
  • Group admission QAR 25
  • Child admission (age 16 and under) Free
  • CP Plus and CP Family Free
  • Resident of Qatar Free

More info

Visitors learn about Qatar’s ancestors and the formation of its early cities, with the museum charting the country’s history and progress through the centuries. Exhibitions combine historic objects and contemporary influences, opening up a dialogue around the impact of rapid change. 

Highlights of your visit

  • Pearl carpet of Baroda

  • Al Zubarah Quran

  • Palace of Sheikh Abdullah bin Jassim Al-Thani

NMoQ’s striking façade features interlocking cantilevered disks, with the museum spanning 430,500 square feet. Designed by Pritzker Prize winning architect Jean Nouvel, the National Museum of Qatar draws inspiration from the country’s history and its geology. The museum itself recreates the naturally occurring mineral crystal formations known as the “desert rose”.  Occurring solely in arid coastal regions, the desert rose is a natural architectural structure, created through the interaction of wind, sea spray and sand over millennia. 

The National Museum of Qatar is home to a multitude of archaeological and heritage objects, manuscripts, photographs, jewellery and costumes.  These objects bring to life the story not only of Qatar, but also the region.  Anchoring the collection is the pearl carpet of Baroda, commissioned by the Maharajah of Baroda, India in 1865.  It comprises over 1.5 million pearls, as well as diamonds, rubies, emeralds and sapphires set in gold and woven onto a base of silk and fine deer hide, and illustrates how widely used gemstones were in the region.  

NMoQ’s architecture pays homage to the naturally occurring desert roses found in the region.

The museum houses 11 galleries through which visitors can witness the changing fortunes of this peninsular nation.  Each gallery offers perspective, and a multi-sensory experience. These are auditory through sound, such as music and oral histories, visual, through film and archival images, olfactory, with aromas evoking particular times and places. The museum complex includes permanent and temporary galleries, a 220-seat auditorium, two cafés, a restaurant, a gift shop, separate facilities for school groups and VIPs, heritage research centres, conservation laboratories and museum collection storage.

The museum tour ends in the central howsh or courtyard, where merchants would unload their merchandise. This tradition lives on in the weekend market that takes place here through winter.

The National Museum of Qatar is walking distance to the Museum of Islamic Art and the Corniche, Doha’s central waterfront promenade as well as Al Bidda Park which anchors the traditional standing market – Souq Waqif, home to cafes, shops, galleries and more.  The regenerated Mshereib Downtown neighbourhood is adjacent to Souq Waqif, and contains the Mshereib Museums, which offer evocative glimpses into Qatar’s past, in the very homes inhabited by its people.

Useful information

Address

Museum Park Street. Off the Doha Corniche

Opening times

Saturday-Thursday : 9AM-7PM

Friday : 1:30PM- 7PM

Not to miss

Skip to main content

تجارب لا تفوّت

متحف قطر الوطني

تأخذ المعارض المترابطة الزوار في رحلة مرئية لقطر، تحكي قصة الدولة من عصور ما قبل التاريخ إلى العصر الحديث.  

المتحف

متحف قطر الوطني

يُعد متحف قطر الوطني مستوحى من التكوينات الكريستالية الطبيعية ويُعرف باسم وردة الصحراء، وهو من تصميم المهندس المعماري جان نوفيل الحائز على جائزة بريتزكر، وقد بُني متحف قطر الوطني حول القصر القديم للشيخ عبدالله بن جاسم آل ثاني ومقر الحكومة لمدة 25 عاماً، ويجسّد المتحف تراث قطر ويحتفي في الوقت نفسه بمستقبلها، ويمتد على مساحة 430500 قدم مربعة. 

How to get there?

  • يمكن الوصول بسهولة إلى متحف قطر الوطني بالسيارة الخاصة أو سيارة الأجرة (تُستخدم أوبر على نطاق واسع، وبدلاً من ذلك يمكن استخدام كروه أو كريم). وتبلغ المسافة من مطار حمد الدولي حوالي 15 دقيقة. 

  • أقرب محطة مترو هي المتحف الوطني (الخط الذهبي).

متحف قطر الوطني

Address

متحف شارع بارك. قبالة كورنيش الدوحة

Phone

+974 4452 5555

Website

https://www.nmoq.org.qa

Tickets

  • الدخول للفرد البالغ 50 ريالاً قطرياً
  • الدخول للطالب الجامعي (ببطاقة هوية سارية) 25 ريالاً قطرياً
  • الدخول للمجموعة 25 ريالاً قطرياً
  • الدخول للأطفال (سن 16 سنة فما دون) مجاناً
  • سي بي بلاس وسي بي للعائلات مجاناً
  • المقيمون في قطر مجاناً

More info

يتعرف الزوار على الأسلاف في قطر وبنية مدنها الأولى، من خلال المتحف الذي يجسّد تاريخ الدولة والتقدم عبر القرون. وتجمع المعارض بين القطع التاريخية والتأثيرات المعاصرة؛ مما يفتح مجالاً للحوار حول أثر التغيير السريع. 

أبرز معالم زيارتك

  • سجادة بارودا المرصعة باللؤلؤ

  • مصحف الزبارة

  • قصر الشيخ عبدالله بن جاسم آل ثاني

تتميز واجهة متحف قطر الوطني المدهشة بأقراص منحنية متشابكة، ويمتد المتحف على مساحة 430500 قدم مربعة. ويُعد متحف قطر الوطني مستوحى من تاريخ البلاد وطبيعتها الجيولوجية، وهو من تصميم المهندس المعماري جان نوفيل الحائز على جائزة بريتزكر، ومستوحى أيضاً من التكوينات الكريستالية المعدنية الطبيعية والمعروفة باسم "وردة الصحراء".  ولا تظهر وردة الصحراء إلا في المناطق الساحلية القاحلة، وهي عبارة عن هيكل معماري طبيعي نشأ من خلال تفاعل الرياح ورذاذ البحر والرمال عبر آلاف السنين. 

يضم متحف قطر الوطني عدداً كبيراً من القطع الأثرية والتراثية والمخطوطات والصور الفوتوغرافية والمجوهرات والأزياء؛  حيث تعيد هذه القطع إلى الأذهان قصة ليست حول قطر فحسب، بل حول المنطقة كذلك.  وتتميز المجموعة بسجادة بارودا المرصعة باللؤلؤ، بتكليف من مهراجا بارودا، في الهند عام 1865.  وتتألف السجادة من أكثر من 1,5 مليون لؤلؤة، بالإضافة إلى الماس والياقوت والزمرد والياقوت الأزرق المرصع بالذهب والمنسوج على قاعدة من الحرير وجلد الغزلان الناعم، وتوضح مدى انتشار الأحجار الكريمة في المنطقة.  

تُجسّد الهندسة المعمارية لمتحف قطر الوطني الورود الصحراوية الطبيعية الموجودة في المنطقة.

يضم المتحف 11 معرضاً يمكن للزوار من خلالها استكشاف الثروات المتغيرة لهذه الدولة التي تتخذ من شبه الجزيرة موطناً لها.  ويقدم كل معرض منظوراً وتجربة تستهدف عدة حواس؛ حيث تستهدف هذه المعارض حاسة السمع من خلال الأصوات، مثل الموسيقى والتاريخ الشفهي، وحاسة البصر، من خلال الأفلام والصور الأرشيفية، وحاسة الشم، من خلال روائح تستحضر أوقاتاً وأماكن معينة. ويضم مجمع المتحف معارض دائمة ومؤقتة، وقاعة تتسع لعدد 220 مقعداً، ومقهيان، ومطعماً، ومتجراً للهدايا، ومرافق منفصلة للمجموعات المدرسية وكبار الشخصيات، ومراكز أبحاث التراث، ومختبرات ترميم، ومخرن لمقتنيات المتحف.

تنتهي جولة المتحف في وسط الساحة أو الفناء، حيث يقوم التجار بتفريغ بضائعهم. ويظهر هذا التقليد في سوق عطلة نهاية الأسبوع التي تقام هنا خلال فصل الشتاء.

يقع متحف قطر الوطني على بُعد مسافة قصيرة سيراً على الأقدام من متحف الفن الإسلامي والكورنيش وممشى الواجهة البحرية المركزي في الدوحة وكذلك حديقة البدع الموجودة في السوق التقليدية الكبيرة -سوق واقف- التي تضم المقاهي والمتاجر والمعارض وغير ذلك الكثير.  ويقع حي مشيرب قلب الدوحة الذي أعيد تجديده بالقرب من سوق واقف، ويحتوي على متاحف مشيرب، التي تقدم لمحاتٍ مثيرة للذكريات عن ماضي قطر، في نفس البيوت التي سكنها أهلها.

Useful information

Address

متحف شارع بارك. قبالة كورنيش الدوحة

Opening times

من السبت إلى الخميس: من 9 صباحاً حتى 7 مساءً

الجمعة: من 1:30 ظهراً حتى 7 مساءً

تجارب لا يسعُك تفويتها