Skip to main content

Things To Do

Visit the Fire Station Gallery

Housed in a former fire station, this gallery is now a go-to spot for artists and art lovers. 

Fire Station

Abutting Doha’s central Al Bidda Park, the Fire Station Gallery was built in 1982 and used as a fire station for over thirty years.  In December of 2012,  the last fire engine was removed, and the space became part of the Qatar Museums network.  Converted into a contemporary art space, the gallery showcases art and artists, engages the local community, and nurtures emerging talent through its artist in residence program.  

How to get there?

  • Fire station Gallery is adjacent to Al-Bidda Park and can be reached by car or taxi. 

    Get directions: Click here

  • Corniche station, Red line, is the nearest metro station.

Fire Station Gallery

Address

Mohammed Bin Thani St

Phone

+974 4422 4222

Website

https://www.firestation.org.qa

The Fire Station Gallery has a raw, industrial style, which offers a contrast with the original honeycomb façade, which has been retained from the building’s days as home of the civil defence authority.  In this regard, the structure delivers on “Bringing the Past into the Future”. 

Fire Station Gallery

Highlights of your visit

  • Garage Gallery

  • “100 days blockade” colourful murals

  • Café #999

Garage Gallery features a rotating series of exhibitions, and has no permanent collection.  To mark the Qatar-France Year of Culture, a Qatar Museums initiative to promote conversations and the sharing of art and culture with a specific country every year, Fire Station is hosting Picasso’s Studios. The exhibit takes visitors on a visual journey through the artist’s work spaces and the art produced therein.  In 2019, KAWS: He Eats Alone showed paintings and sculptures from artist Brian Donnelly’s 20-year career. 

Previous exhibits include the Russian Avant-Garde as well as Picasso-Giacometti.  The latter brought together over 120 paintings, sculptures, sketches and photographs, as well as interviews with the artists. 

Fire Station has an Artist in Residence progamme for Qatar-based artists. The annual nine-month residency programme provides studio space, mentorship, and access to curators. Residencies are also available in New York and Paris.  

Showing the intertwining of art and politics, look no further than the five murals making up “100 days blockade”.  These offer an artistic take on the blockade Qatar. If all that art makes inspires hunger, head to Café #999, which serves up healthy dishes made from locally sourced ingredients.

Qatar Museums was keen to preserve the original façade, hence much of the building was kept intact.

Useful information

Address

Mohammed Bin Thani St

Opening times

Garage Gallery:

Saturday to Thursday: 09:00 am - 07:00 am

Friday: 01:30 pm - 07:00 pm

Nearby attractions

 Al Bidda Park also known as Al Rumaila Park, overlooks Doha’s central waterfront promenade, the Corniche.  The nearby Museum of Islamic Art lets visitors continue to soak up history and art. For a more rounded sensory experience, head to Souq Waqif, the central market built on the site of an ancient trading bazaar.  Teeming with shops, galleries and eateries, this invites visitors to lose themselves in its winding alleys, exploring the souvenirs and antiques.  The refurbished Mshereib Downtown is next to Souq Waqif, as are the Mshereib Museums.  

Not to miss

Skip to main content

تجارب لا تفوّت

لا تفوّت زيارة مطافئ (مقر الفنانين)

يقع هذا المعرض في محطة إطفاء سابقة، وهو يتميز الآن بكونه وجهةً مفضلة للفنانين ومحبي الفن. 

المتحف

مطافئ (مقر الفنانين)

بُني مطافئ (مقر الفنانين) بالقرب من حديقة البدع المركزية في الدوحة عام 1982، واستُخدم كمحطة إطفاء لأكثر من ثلاثين عاماً.  وفي ديسمبر 2012،  تمت إزالة آخر مطفأة حريق، وأصبح المكان جزءاً من مجموعة متاحف قطر.  وبعد تحويله إلى ساحة فنية معاصرة، بدأ في عرض الفن والفنانين، وإشراك المجتمع المحلي، ورعاية المواهب الناشئة من خلال برنامجه مقر الفنانين.  

How to get there?

  • يقع مطافئ (مقر الفنانين) بجوار حديقة البدع، ويمكن الوصول إليه بالسيارة الخاصة أو سيارة الأجرة. 

    إرشادات الوصول: انقر هنا

  • أقرب محطة مترو هي محطة الكورنيش، الخط الأحمر.

مطافئ (مقر الفنانين)

Address

شارع محمد بن ثاني

Phone

+974 4422 4222

Website

https://www.firestation.org.qa

يتميز جاليري مطافئ (مقر الفنانين) بطراز صناعي خالص؛ حيث يعرض تبايناً مع الواجهة الأصلية التي تأخذ شكل قرص العسل، والتي احتُفظ بها منذ أن كان المبنى مقراً لسلطة الدفاع المدني؛  وبذلك، يحافظ الهيكل على "الجمع بين أصالة الماضي وحداثة المستقبل". 

مطافئ (مقر الفنانين)

أبرز معالم زيارتك

  • كراج جاليري

  • جداريات ملونة ضمن مشروع "100 يوم على الحصار"

  • مقهى #999

يضم كراج جاليري سلسلة دورية من المعارض، ولا يوجد به مجموعة دائمة.  واحتفالاً بمبادرة العام الثقافي قطر-فرنسا، وهي مبادرة تطلقها متاحف قطر بهدف تعزيز المحادثات ومشاركة الفن والثقافة مع دولة معينة كل سنة، تستضيف مطافئ (مقر الفنانين) معرض استوديوهات بيكاسو. ويأخذ المعرض الزوار في رحلةٍ مرئيةٍ عبر أماكن أعمال للفنان وما شهدته من أعمال فنية ولدت فيها.  وفي عام 2019، قدم معرض الفنان كاوس الذي يحمل عنوان "يأكلُ بِمُفرَده" لوحاتٍ ومنحوتاتٍ من مسيرة عمل الفنان بريان دونيلي التي استمرت 20 عاماً. 

تشمل المعارض السابقة معرض الفن الروسي التجريبي وكذلك بيكاسو–جياكوميتي؛  حيث جمع الأخير أكثر من 120 من اللوحات فنية والمنحوتات والرسومات والصور الفوتوغرافية، بالإضافة إلى مقابلات مع الفنانين. 

يقدم مطافئ (مقر الفنانين) برنامج مقر الفنانين لأولئك الفنانين المقيمين في قطر؛ ويوفر برنامج الإقامة الفنية السنوي الممتد على مدار تسعة أشهر مساحة استوديو وبرامج توجيه وإمكانية الاستعانة بالأمناء.  ويُقدَّم برنامج الإقامة الفنية أيضاً في نيويورك وباريس.

إذا أردت أن تقف على مدى تداخل الفن مع السياسة، فليس عليك سوى استكشاف الجداريات الخمس التي تُميز مشروع "100 يوم على الحصار"؛  حيث تقدم نظرةً فنية حول الحصار الذي فُرض على قطر. وإذا لم تُغنيك هذه الوجبة الفنية الدسمة عن نداء المعدة، فلا تفوّت التوجه إلى كافيه #999، الذي يقدم أطباقاً صحية مُعدة من مكونات محلية.

حرصت متاحف قطر على الحفاظ على الواجهة الأصلية، وبالتالي، فقد تم الحفاظ على جزء كبير من المبنى على حالته.

Useful information

Address

شارع محمد بن ثاني

Opening times

كراج جاليري:

من السبت إلى الخميس: من 9 صباحاً حتى 7 صباحاً

الجمعة: من 1:30 ظهراً حتى 7 مساءً

معالم الجذب القريبة

 تطل حديقة البدع، المعروفة أيضاً باسم حديقة الرميلة، على ممشى الواجهة البحرية في الدوحة، الكورنيش.  ويتيح متحف الفن الإسلامي القريب للزوار مواصلة الاستمتاع بالتاريخ والفن. وللتمتع بمزيدٍ من التجربة الحسية المتكاملة، فلا تفوّت التوجه إلى سوق واقف، وهي السوق المركزية المبنية على موقع بازار تجاري قديم؛  حيث تعج هذه السوق بالمتاجر والمعارض والمطاعم، مما يدعو الزوار إلى التجوال في أزقتها المتعرجة واستكشاف الهدايا التذكارية والتحف الفنية.  وتقع مشيرب قلب الدوحة التي تم تجديدها بجوار سوق واقف، كما هو الحال بالنسبة لمتاحف مشيرب.  

تجارب لا يسعُك تفويتها