Skip to main content

Things To Do

Discover Al Rakayat Fort

Get up close and personal with a majestic bit of history.

Al Rakayat Fort

One of several desert forts from the 19th century, and one of a few renovated during the 1980s, Rakayat Fort in the north western corner of Qatar was built to protect local supplies of freshwater. Remnants of a village can be found nearby.

Named after the Arabic word for ‘well’, Rakayat Fort contains a 5km-deep freshwater well, from which villagers painstakingly pulled up water.  The fort is unusual for its low height (only three metres). Each corner of the central courtyard features a staircase leading up to one of three rectangular and one cylindrical watchtower, with expansive views of the rocky landscape juxtaposed against the sparkling waters of the Arabian Gulf.

How to get there?

  • Take Al Shamal Road from Doha Al Ruwais. It is about 116 km - a 1 hour 20 minute drive. Al Rakayat Fort is a further 15 minutes from there.

Nestled in the northwest of Qatar lies Al Rakayat, another 19th-century fort built to protect vital water resources in the area. The fort houses a freshwater well, and the scattered remains of village life can be found nearby. One of the most well-preserved sites in Qatar, it was renovated in the 1980s and is typical of desert forts, with three rectangular towers and a cylindrical one. Three sides of the central courtyard are aligned with narrow rooms that open onto an expansive courtyard, where an ancient date press - madbasa - was discovered.  During restoration work, the site yielded an Islamic coin dating to the Abbasid period, between 749–846 AD.

Highlights of your visit

  • Scattered relics

  • 19th century design

  • Al Ruwais

More than protection for the area’s water supply, Al Rakayat Fort was used as a defensive structure against foreign invaders. Hence, the fort played a critical role in the history of Qatar and today stands as a majestic example of the country’s storied past. 

Rakayat is the Arabic word for ‘well’, which explains one of the reasons behind the fort’s construction.

Useful information

Opening times

Open 24 Hours

Not to miss

التخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

تجارب لا تفوّت

اكتشف قلعة الركيات

اقترب واستمتع شخصياً ببعض المشاهد التاريخية المهيبة.

الموقع التراثي

قلعة الركيات

تمثل قلعة الركيات إحدى القلاع الصحراوية المتعددة التي يعود تاريخها إلى القرن التاسع عشر، وإحدى القلاع القليلة التي خضعت للتجديدات خلال الثمانينات من القرن العشرين، وقد بُنيت في الركن الشمالي الغربي من قطر لحماية الإمدادات المحلية من المياه العذبة. ويمكن العثور على آثار قريةٍ بالقرب منها.

سُميت قلعة الركيات نسبة إلى الركية بمعنى البئر، حيث تحتوي على بئر مياه عذبة بعمق 5 كم، يسحب منها القُرويون المياه بشق الأنفس.   وتُعتبر القلعة استثنائية نظراً لارتفاعها المنخفض (ثلاثة أمتار فقط). ويشتمل كل ركن من أركان الفناء المركزي على سلالم تؤدي إلى أحد أبراج المراقبة المستطيلة الثلاثة وبرج المراقبة الدائري، مع إطلالات شاسعة على المناظر الطبيعية الصخرية بجانب مياه الخليج العربي المتلألئة.

كيف يمكن الوصول إلى هناك؟

  • اسلك طريق الشمال من الدوحة إلى الرويس؛ حيث تبلغ المسافة 116 كيلومتر تقريباً، وهو ما يعادل ساعة و20 دقيقة بالسيارة. وتقع قلعة الركيات على بُعد 15 دقيقة أخرى من هناك.

قلعة الركيات

العنوان

الشمال ، قطر

الهاتف

+974 4402 8513

الموقع الإلكتروني

https://www.qm.org.qa/en/project/forts-qatar

تقع قلعة الركيات في شمال غرب قطر، وتُعد إحدى القلاع التي يعود تاريخها إلى القرن التاسع عشر، وقد بُنيت لحماية الموارد المائية الحيوية في المنطقة. وتضم القلعة بئراً للمياه العذبة، ويمكن العثور على أطلال قرية متناثرة بالقرب منها. وتعد من أكثر المواقع التي تم الحفاظ عليها بشكل جيد في قطر، وقد تم تجديدها في الثمانينيات، وتمثل نموذجاً للقلاع الصحراوية؛ حيث تحتوي على ثلاثة أبراج مستطيلة وآخر دائري. وتقع ثلاثة جوانب من الفناء المركزي بمحاذاة غرف ضيقة مفتوحة على فناء شاسع؛ حيث تم اكتشاف مدبسة قديمة للتمور.  وخلال أعمال الترميم، تم العثور على عملة إسلامية في الموقع تعود إلى العصر العباسي في الفترة ما بين 749-846.

أبرز معالم زيارتك

  • أطلال متناثرة

  • تصميم يعود إلى القرن التاسع عشر

  • الرويس

لم تقتصر وظيفة قلعة الركيات على حماية إمدادات المياه في المنطقة، وإنما كانت تُستخدم كهيكل دفاعي ضد الغزاة الأجانب. ومن ثم، فقد لعبت القلعة دوراً حاسماً في تاريخ قطر، وتبرُز اليوم كمثال مهيب لماضي الدولة العريق. 

الركيات كلمة عربية تعني "البئر"، وهو ما يفسر أحد الأسباب لبناء القلعة.

معلومات مفيدة

العنوان

الشمال ، قطر

الموقع الإلكتروني

الهاتف

مواعيد العمل

مفتوح على مدار الساعة

تجارب لا يسعُك تفويتها