Arts & crafts

Things to do

Arts & crafts

Qatar has a rich tradition of arts and crafts, from being a centre of the purple dye industry, to its unique textiles, pottery, and jewellery. 

Arabic calligraphy

A venerated art form across the Arab world, this graceful form of writing gained popularity in part because of the rise of Islam. When transcribing the Holy Quran, scholars endeavoured to adorn the text without using figurative art. Their solution was to use elaborate script to evoke the beauty and harmony of Allah’s creation.

The result is an art form in which the meaning of the text often owes as much to the forms created by the characters as it does to the words themselves. Examples of fine calligraphy can be seen in many forms in modern-day Qatar on paper, tiles, carpets, wall hangings and carved inscriptions. 

Arts & crafts
Arts & crafts

Al Khous

Al khous is an ancient weaving technique using palm fronds. Entirely dependent on palm leaves secured from different areas around the Gulf, today the industry has almost ceased to exist in Qatar. Al khous was used to make baskets, mats and other products that were used in traditional Qatari households.

Arts & crafts

Al Sadu weaving

Traditional hand-spinning and weaving, Al Sadu is still practiced in Qatar. Traditionally a female activity, Al Sadu is closely associated with the availability of raw materials such as sheep wool, camel and goat hair and cotton. The tools used in the spinning and knitting process are called meghzal, el nul and elmanshaza. Fabric woven using Al Sadu techniques features vibrant geometric patterns and often uses colours such as red, black and white.

Embroidery

Needlework and embroidery are some of the region’s most enduring traditional handicrafts. In years past, women used to sew garments themselves as there were no tailors in Qatar.  Even in the early 1950s, there were just three tailors in the country, all of whom specialised in men’s clothing.

One of the most fascinating techniques is an-naqdah, where women’s garments and headscarves are embroidered with gold and silver threads.

Arts & crafts
Arts & crafts

Gypsum carving

A decorative technique practised across the Gulf, gypsum is carved with abstract patterns, based on architectural and natural motifs. Produced locally, gypsum was used because of its ability to withstand extreme weather conditions.  Carved gypsum is used for decoration in palaces, mosque facades and affluent houses in Qatar. Window and door frames were also decorated with gypsum ornamentation, as well as rawashin (shelves), made within the width of walls and used to display valuable objects. Some smaller objects such as incense burners were also traditionally crafted from gypsum.

Arts & crafts

Goldsmithing & jewellery

Jewellery production is one of Qatar’s oldest handicrafts, and there are several practicing and well-known Qatari designers. These designers create diverse jewellery items including traditional products such as anklets, rings, earrings, bracelets, necklaces and hair ornaments.

Henna body art

Henna, a natural reddish-brown dye derived from powdered leaves, has been used by Qatari women for cosmetic purposes for hundreds of years. It is still widely used today to decorate the skin with intricate patterns and designs, especially for occasions such as weddings and Eid celebrations. It is also used to colour and treat hair.

Men would also apply henna when pearl diving, applying it to their hands and the soles of their feet in order to condition the skin. 

Arts & crafts
Arts & crafts

Pottery making

A traditional industry in Qatar, pottery was necessary for food preservation, water storage, cooking, and had many different household uses.

Porcelain or pottery products are distinguished by the diversity of their shape and the beauty of painting and engraving, and are appreciated now for their artistry as much as their use. Examples include juhla, a vessel used for food storage, buq or qursha, used for cooling water and burma, a cooking pot.

Arts & crafts

Music & dance

Traditional music instruments include tambourines, cymbals and large drums known as al-Mirwass, as well as string instruments such as oud and rababa.  The Ardha dance is the most popular traditional dance in Qatar, with men and boys carrying canes or decorative swords facing each other in two rows.  The dance was performed by warriors before battle, and remains part of Qatar’s culture, enacted during Qatar National Day, at banquets and celebrations and other special events.

Continue to explore

Things to do

Skip to main content

تجارب لا تفوّت

الفنون والحرف اليدوية

تتميز قطر بثراء تقاليدها في الفنون والحرف اليدوية، بدءاً من كونها مركزاً لصناعة الصبغة الأرجوانية إلى تميزها بالمنسوجات الفريدة والفخار وروائع المجوهرات. 

الخط العربي

يُعد أحد أشكال أعظم الفنون في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي؛ فقد اكتسب هذا الشكل الجميل من الكتابة شعبيةً، جزئياً، بسبب ظهور الإسلام. وسعى العلماء عند نسخ القرآن الكريم إلى زخرفة النص دون استخدام الفن التصويري. وكان الحل الذي توصلوا إليه هو استخدام نص مُفسّر لاستحضار جمال وتناغم خلق الله.

جاءت النتيجة لتُظهر شكلاً فنياً يتناسب فيه معنى النص مع الأشكال التي أنشأتها الأحرف بقدر ما يتناسب مع الكلمات نفسها. ويمكن رؤية أمثلة على الخط المتقن بأشكال عديدة في قطر الحديثة؛ حيث نراه على الورق والبلاط والسجاد والمعلقات الجدارية والنقوش المنحوتة. 

الفنون والحرف اليدوية
الخط العربي
الفنون والحرف اليدوية

الخوص

يمثل الخوص أحد أساليب النسج القديمة المستخدمة لسعف النخيل؛ حيث تعتمد تماماً على أوراق النخيل الموجودة من مناطق مختلفة حول الخليج، ولم تعد هذه الصناعة موجودة في قطر تقريباً في عصرنا هذا. وقد استُخدم الخوص في صنع السلال والحصائر وغيرها من المنتجات التي كانت تُستخدم في المنازل القطرية التقليدية.

الفنون والحرف اليدوية

نسيج السدو

لا يزال السدو يُمارس في قطر بالغزل والنسيج اليدوي التقليدي. ويُعد السدو أحد الأنشطة التقليدية التي تمارسها الإناث، ويرتبط هذا النشاط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بتوافر مواد خام، مثل صوف الأغنام وشعر الإبل والماعز والقطن. وتُسمى الأدوات المستخدمة في عملية الغزل والحياكة باسم المغزل والنول والمنشزة. وتتميز الأقمشة المنسوجة باستخدام وسائل السدو بأنماط هندسية نابضة بالحياة وغالباً ما تستخدم ألواناً مثل الأحمر والأسود والأبيض.

التطريز

تُعد الخياطة والتطريز من أكثر الحرف اليدوية التقليدية الراسخة في المنطقة. فقد اعتادت النساء، في السنوات الماضية، على خياطة الملابس بأنفسهن لعدم وجود خياطين في قطر.  وحتى في أوائل الخمسينيات من القرن العشرين، لم يكن هناك سوى ثلاثة خياطين في البلاد، وجميعهم متخصصون في ملابس الرجال.

تُعد طريقة النقدة من أروع الطُرق؛ حيث تُطرّز الملابس النسائية وأغطية الرأس بخيوط ذهبية وفضية.

الفنون والحرف اليدوية
التطريز
الفنون والحرف اليدوية

النقش على الجبس

أسلوب زخرفة يُمارس في جميع أنحاء الخليج، حيث يتم فيه النقش على الجبس بنقوش تجريدية تعتمد على الزخارف المعمارية والطبيعية. ويُستخدم الجبس المُنتج محلياً نظراً لقدرته على تحمل الظروف الجوية القاسية.  ويُستخدم الجبس المنقوش في زخرفة القصور وواجهات المساجد والمنازل الفخمة في قطر. وقد زُيّنت أيضاً إطارات النوافذ والأبواب بزخارف جبسية وكذلك الرواشن (الأرفف) المبنية في عرض الجدران، وتُستخدم لعرض القطع الثمينة. وكانت تُصنع بعض القطع الصغيرة، مثل المباخر، صناعةً تقليدية من الجبس.

الفنون والحرف اليدوية

صياغة الذهب والمجوهرات

تُعتبر صناعة المجوهرات من أقدم الحرف اليدوية في قطر، وهناك العديد من المصممين القطريين الممارسين والمشهورين، ويصنع هؤلاء المصممون قطع مجوهرات متنوعة، منها المنتجات التقليدية، مثل الخلخال والخواتم والأقراط والأساور والقلائد، وحلي الشعر.

فن نقش الحناء

تستخدم النساء القطريات الحناء، وهي صبغة طبيعية بنية مائلة إلى الحمرة ومشتقة من مسحوق أوراق الحناء، لأغراض تجميلية لمئات السنين. ولا تزال تُستخدم على نطاقٍ واسعٍ اليوم لتزيين البشرة بأنماط وتصاميم دقيقة، لاسيما في المناسبات، مثل حفلات الزفاف واحتفالات العيد، كما تُستخدم لتلوين الشعر ومعالجته.

ويستخدم الرجال أيضاً الحناء عند الغوص بحثاً عن اللؤلؤ، ويضعونها على أيديهم وباطن أقدامهم لترطيب البشرة. 

الفنون والحرف اليدوية
فن نقش الحناء
الفنون والحرف اليدوية

صناعة الفخار

تُعد صناعة الفخار صناعةً تقليدية في قطر؛ فقد كان الفخار ضرورياً لحفظ الطعام وتخزين المياه والطهي وكان له العديد من الاستخدامات المنزلية المختلفة.

تتميز منتجات البورسلين أو الفخار بتنوع أشكالها وجمال طلائها ونقشها، وتحظى الآن بتقديرٍ بفضل تميزها بالبراعة الفنية إلى جانب استخدامها، ومن الأمثلة على ذلك، الجُحلة وهي وعاء يُستخدم لتخزين الطعام، والبوق أو القرشة ويُستخدم لتبريد المياه، والبورما وهي وعاء للطهي.

الفنون والحرف اليدوية

الموسيقى والرقص

تشمل الآلات الموسيقية التقليدية الرق والصنج والطبلة الكبيرة المعروفة باسم المرواس، بالإضافة إلى الآلات الوترية مثل العود والربابة.  وتُعد رقصة العرضة أكثر الرقصات التقليدية شعبية في قطر؛ حيث يحمل الرجال والفتيان العصي أو السيوف المزخرفة في مواجهة بعضهم البعض في صفين،  وقد أدى المحاربون هذه الرقصة قبل المعركة، ولا تزال تُشكل جزءاً من ثقافة قطر، ويتم أداؤها خلال اليوم الوطني لدولة قطر وفي المآدب والاحتفالات وغيرها من المناسبات الخاصة.

واصل رحلة الاستكشاف

تجارب لا تفوّت