Other sites

Things To Do

Other sites

Mondrian Doha

Developed over a six-year period, the Mondrian Doha features a distinctive falcon-inspired design.  An important part of Qatari culture, the falcon is a recurring symbol at the Mondrian, with the entrance modelled like the beak, and the podium covered with a bird’s nest pattern.

Other sites

Marina Twin Towers

Located in Lusail City, the 32-story Marina Twin Towers offer a vivid contrast with the surrounding desertscape.  Also known as the Lego Towers, these buildings feature colourful cubes that appear to be unevenly stacked, with the colours representing Qatar’s multi-cultural population.

Other sites

Aspire Tower

Aspire Tower, also known as The Torch, is Qatar’s tallest building, at 300-metres (980 ft).  Designed by architect Hadi Simaan, it was built to house the 2006 Asian Games flame.  Now a luxury hotel, The Torch is built within the Aspire Zone sports complex.

Other sites

Ceremonial Court

The Ceremonial Court in the Qatar Foundation complex, designed by Pritzker Prize winning architect Arata Isozaki, is an open-air space used for special events such as graduations, lectures and concerts.  Intricate lattice work features across the court, which contains an informal amphitheater to the north and a formal stage area to the south, with each accommodating up to 3,000 people.

Other sites

Msheireb Downtown

An ambitious urban redevelopment project, Msheireb Downtown is the world's first regeneration project with a strong focus on sustainability. Incorporating traditional architecture with modern elements, the neighbourhood aims to create a community rooted in Qatari culture.  The central Barahat Msheireb is a vast courtyard space with a retractable roof. Ringed by dining options, it forms the heart of the revitalised district. 

One of the project’s prized structures, the National Archive building aims to replicate the country’s archetypical coastal watchtowers. Clad in stone panels, the archive’s facades are interrupted by recessed windows and cavernous openings carved into the stone surfaces at an angle to moderate light and views inside the building. It has been recognized for its sustainable features, including energy and water saving mechanisms, use of non-potable water, rainwater recovery and on-site renewable energy generation. 

Other sites

Imam Abdul Wahhab Mosque

The Imam Abdul Wahhab Mosque, also known as the Qatar State Grand Mosque, is one of the largest mosques in Qatar.  Built on a hill overlooking Al Jubaylat area, it commands visibility, its 28 outer domes punctuating the skyline.  The mosque has an arresting design that combines the simplicity of Islamic architecture with clean, modern lines.  The mosque houses a library and can hold over 30,000 worshippers. 

Other sites

Katara Cultural Village

Katara Cultural Village showcases traditional architectural styles from across the region.  The complex houses two masjids, or mosques, both stunning examples of modernist Islamic art.  Designed by Turkey’s Zeynep Fadilloglu, who is believed to be the first female architect to specialise in mosques, the larger mosque features Persian and Turkish tile and enamel work.

The second mosque within Katara is smaller, but covered with luminous gold tiling glinting in the sun, it is no less eye catching. 

Katara is also home to the pigeon towers, traditional bird houses, as well as a roman style amphitheatre boasting dramatic views of the sea.

Other sites

Continue to explore

Things to do

التخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

تجارب لا تفوّت

مواقع أخرى

موندريان الدوحة

شهد فندق موندريان الدوحة أعمال تطوير استمرت على مدار ست سنوات، ويتميز بتصميمه الأنيق المستوحى من الصقور،  إذ يُعد الصقر جزءاً مهماً من الثقافة القطرية، وهذا هو الدافع وراء تكراره في فندق موندريان، وقد صُمم المدخل على شكل منقار وتمت تغطية المنصة بنمط عش الطائر.

مواقع أخرى
موندريان الدوحة

مارينا توين تاورز

تقع أبراج مارينا توين تاورز المكونة من 32 طابقاً في مدينة لوسيل، وتوفر تبايناً واضحاً مع المناظر الصحراوية المحيطة.  وتُعرف هذه المباني أيضاً باسم أبراج الليجو، إذ تتميز بمكعبات ملونة تبدو مكدّسة على نحوٍ غير متساوٍ، حيث تمثل الألوان سكان قطر متعددي الثقافات.

مواقع أخرى
مارينا توين تاورز

برج أسباير

يُعد برج أسباير، المعروف أيضاً باسم شعلة الدوحة، أطول مبنى في قطر بارتفاع يبلغ 300 متر (980 قدماً).  وقد صممه المهندس المعماري هادي سمعان لتوفير أماكن الإقامة لشعلة الألعاب الآسيوية لعام 2006.  وقد بُني فندق الشعلة داخل مجمع أسباير زون الرياضي، وأصبح الآن فندقاً فاخراً.

مواقع أخرى
برج أسباير

ساحة الاحتفالات

صُمّمت ساحة الاحتفالات في مجمع مؤسسة قطر على يد المهندس المعماري أراتا إيسوزاكي الحائز على جائزة بريتزكر، وهي عبارة عن مكان مفتوح يُستخدم للفعاليات الخاصة، مثل حفلات التخرج والمحاضرات والحفلات الموسيقية.  وتتميز جميع أنحاء الساحة بالعمل الشبكي المعقد، وتحتوي على مدرج غير رسمي إلى الشمال ومنطقة مسرح رسمية إلى الجنوب، يتسع كل منهما لما يصل إلى 3000 شخص.

مواقع أخرى
ساحة الاحتفالات

مشيرب قلب الدوحة

  مشيرب قلب الدوحة هو عبارة عن مشروع إعادة تطوير حضري طموح وواعد، ويُعتبر أول مشروع تجديد في العالم يركّز بشدّة على الاستدامة. ويهدف الحي، من خلال دمج العمارة التقليدية مع العناصر الحديثة، إلى خلق مجتمع يضرب بجذوره في الثقافة القطرية.  وتضم  براحة مشيرب المركزية فناءً واسعاً بسقف قابل للطي. وتحيط بها خيارات تناول الطعام، وتشكل قلب المنطقة المُعاد تنشيطها. 

يهدف مبنى  الأرشيف الوطني ، أحد هياكل المشروع الحائزة على الجوائز،  إلى تجسيد أبراج المراقبة الساحلية النموذجية في البلاد. ويتخلل واجهات الأرشيف المكسوة بألواح حجرية نوافذُ مريحة وفتحات كهفية منحوتة في الأسطح الحجرية بزاويةٍ لتلطيف الضوء والمناظر داخل المبنى. وقد عُرف المبنى بميزاته المستدامة، بما في ذلك آليات توفير الطاقة والمياه، واستخدام المياه غير الصالحة للشرب، واستعادة مياه الأمطار، وتوليد الطاقة المتجددة في الموقع. 

مواقع أخرى
مشيرب قلب الدوحة

جامع الإمام مُحمَّد بن عبد الوهاب

يُعد جامع الإمام مُحمَّد بن عبد الوهاب، المعروف أيضاً باسم الجامع الكبير في قطر، أحد أكبر المساجد في قطر.  وقد بُني على تل يطل على منطقة الجبيلات، ويُتيح رؤية وإطلالات واضحة، من خلال قبابه الخارجية الثمانية والعشرين التي تتخلل الأفق.  ويتميز الجامع بتصميمه الجذاب الذي يجمع بين بساطة العمارة الإسلامية والتصميمات العصرية المنمقة.  ويضم الجامع مكتبة رائعة ويستوعب ما يزيد عن 30 ألف مُصلٍ. 

مواقع أخرى
جامع الإمام مُحمَّد بن عبد الوهاب

الحي الثقافي كتارا

يعرض الحي الثقافي كتارا أنماط الهندسة المعمارية التقليدية من جميع أنحاء المنطقة.  ويضم المجمع مسجدين، أو جامعين، يشكّل كلاهما مثالاً مذهلاً على الفن الإسلامي الحديث.  وقد قام على تصميم المسجد الأكبر المهندسة المعمارية التركية زينب فاضل أوغلو، التي يُعتقد أنها أول مهندسة معمارية متخصصة في المساجد، ويتميز بأعمال البلاط والطلاء اللامع بالطابع الفارسي والتركي.

يُعد المسجد الثاني في كتارا أصغر حجماً، لكنه يخطف الأنظار على نحوٍ مماثل لما يتميز به من بلاط ذهبي يلمع تحت أشعة الشمس. 

كذلك، يُعد كتارا موطناً لأبراج الحمام وبيوت الطيور التقليدية، بالإضافة إلى احتوائه على مدرج على الطراز الروماني يوفر إطلالات ساحرة على البحر.

مواقع أخرى
الحي الثقافي كتارا

واصل رحلة الاستكشاف

تجارب لا تفوّت