Skip to main content

Things To Do

Discover Al Janoub Stadium

This stadium’s design reflects the sails of Qatar’s wooden dhow boats, traditionally responsible for much of the country’s economy.

Al Janoub Stadium

One of eight venues to host the FIFA World Cup 2022, Al Janoub Stadium, was designed by British-Iraqi architect Zaha Hadid.  Located near the former fishing town of Wakrah, draws inspiration from the dhow boats which dot Qatar’s waters, and the pearls which were integral to its economy.  The stadium is slated to be used as a local community venue after the competition.

How to get there?

  • Al Janoub Stadium is accessible by car or taxi.

Established in one of Qatar’s oldest neighbourhoods, Al Janoub Stadium was inaugurated on 16 May 2019 during the Amir Cup final.  The 40,000-seat stadium was inspired by the sails of traditional dhow boats used by fishermen and pearl divers. The curvilinear roof evokes Al Wakrah's history of seafaring with bowed beams holding up the roof resembling a ship's hull, offering shade and shelter. 

Al Janoub Stadium was awarded a Class A* sustainability rating by the Global Sustainability Assessment System (GSAS).  It features proprietary cooling technology, which efficiently uses energy to cool the stadium, making it usable throughout the year. In keeping with the FIFA World Cup 2022™ vision of sustainability, the stadium’s modular seating allows for half the seats to be dismantled and transported to a country in need of sporting infrastructure. 

With an eye towards legacy, several facilities are being developed around Al Janoub stadium.  These include bicycle paths, horse-riding and running tracks; restaurants; gyms; and parkland.

The design of Al Janoub stadium was inspired by the sails of traditional Dhow boats.

Nearby attractions

Souq Waqif Al Wakrah, also known as Souq Al Wakrah, is located nearby, with traditional style buildings.  The ‘Souq by the Sea’ contains a wide variety of stores, cafes and restaurants, and holds celebrations throughout the year.  While beach access is free, some water activities may require a charge.  Al Wakrah Museum offers an example of classic local architecture, with exhibits illustrating marine life in this former fishing village. 

Useful information

Address

Al Wukair, Qatar

Phone

Not to miss

By subscribing, you agree to QNTC´s collection and processing of your personal information for purposes of direct marketing in accordance with its Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions. You may opt out at any time. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

تخطى الى المحتوى الرئيسي

تجارب لا تفوّت

استكشف استاد الجنوب

يعكس تصميم هذا الملعب أشرعة القوارب الخشبية (اللنجات) في قطر، والتي كانت العمود الفقري لاقتصاد قطر.

الرياضات

استاد الجنوب

يمثل استاد الجنوب أحد الملاعب الثمانية التي من المقرر أن تستضيف كأس العالم لكرة القدم 2022، وهو من تصميم المعمارية البريطانية العراقية زها حديد.  ويقع بالقرب من مدينة الوكرة المعروفة بالصيد سابقاً، ويُعد وهو مستوحىً من القوارب الخشبية (اللنجات) التي تنتشر في مياه قطر واللؤلؤ الذي يشكّل جزءاً لا يتجزأ من اقتصادها.  ومن المقرر استغلال الاستاد كوجهة تفتح أبوابها أمام المجتمع المحلي بعد البطولة.

كيف يمكن الوصول إلى هناك؟

  • يمكن الوصول إلى استاد الجنوب بالسيارة الخاصة أو بسيارة الأجرة.

استاد الجنوب

العنوان

الوكير ، قطر

الهاتف

غير متاح

الموقع الإلكتروني

https://www.qatar2022.qa/en/stadiums/al-janoub-stadium

شُيد استاد الجنوب في أحد أقدم أحياء قطر، وافتُتح في 16 مايو 2019 خلال نهائي كأس الأمير.  وقد استوحي الاستاد الذي يضم 40 ألف مقعد من أشرعة القوارب الخشبية التقليدية (اللنجات) التي يستخدمها الصيادون وغواصو اللؤلؤ، ويستحضر السقف ذو الألواح المنحنية تاريخ الوكرة في الملاحة البحرية باستخدام عوارض منحنية تحمل السقف الذي يشبه هيكل السفينة، مما يوفر الظل والمأوى. 

فاز استاد الجنوب في تصنيف الاستدامة بالفئة "أ*" من المنظومة العالمية لتقييم الاستدامة (GSAS)؛  حيث يتميز بتقنية تبريد مسجلة الملكية تستخدم الطاقة بكفاءة لتبريد الاستاد، مما يجعلها قابلة للاستخدام على مدار العام. وتماشياً مع رؤية الاستدامة لمباريات كأس العالم 2022 FIFA™، تتيح المقاعد النموذجية في الاستاد تفكيك نصف المقاعد وإهداءها إلى أية دولة تفتقر إلى بنية تحتية رياضية. 

يُجرى تطوير العديد من المرافق حول استاد الجنوب مع التركيز على الإرث،  ويشمل ذلك مسارات الدراجات ومضامير ركوب الخيل والركض والمطاعم وصالات الألعاب رياضية والمتنزهات.

تصميم استاد الجنوب مستوحى من أشرعة القوارب الخشبية التقليدية (اللنجات).

المعالم القريبة

يقع سوق واقف الوكرة، المعروف أيضاً بسوق الوكرة، في مكانٍ قريب، بالإضافة إلى مبانٍ على الطراز التقليدي.  ويضم "السوق المطل على البحر" مجموعةً متنوعةً من المتاجر والمقاهي والمطاعم، ويُقيم الاحتفالات على مدار العام.  يُمكن الاستمتاع بالدخول إلى الشاطئ مجاناً، بينما تتطلب بعض الأنشطة المائية رسوماً.  ويقدم متحف الوكرة مثالاً على الهندسة المعمارية المحلية الكلاسيكية، بالإضافة إلى المعارض التي تُجسد الحياة البحرية في تلك القرية التي كانت قريةً للصيد في وقت سابق. 

معلومات مفيدة

العنوان

Al Wukair, Qatar

الهاتف

تجارب لا يسعُك تفويتها

demand space sticky