Skip to main content

Things To Do

Culinary itinerary

Take your tastebuds on a tour of Doha’s finest culinary establishments.

Qatar’s penchant for luxury is reflected in its culinary scene. In the capital of Doha, you’ll find a number of Michelin-starred restaurants representing an eclectic range of cuisines and helmed by some of the world’s top chefs, with talent from Latin America to Japan. The city’s haute cuisine is gaining attention amongst foodie circles around the world. Your main challenge will be finding the time and stomach to sample all of Qatar’s culinary delights during your visit.  

Day 1

If you arrive in Doha in the evening, treat yourself to a luxurious stay at the award-winning Sharq Village & Spa, halfway between Hamad International Airport and Doha’s central neighbourhoods.  Set along Qatar’s golden coastline, the Ritz-Carlton property and offers a secluded beach where you can unwind after a long journey. The resort has plenty of fine dining options, but for the best of Bedouin tradition outside a tent, try The Zarb Experience – a process in which meat (usually lamb shoulder or leg bone) is slow cooked for 6 hours in an underground pit or earthen oven called a Zarb.   

Day 2

Start your day at the Museum of Islamic Art (MIA).  Designed by world-renowned architect I.M. Pei, the building is a masterpiece in and of itself.  After taking in four centuries of Islamic art and artefacts, including metalwork, ceramics, jewellery, woodwork, textiles and glass, from three continents, head to the top floor for lunch at IDAM.  With a name that means generosity, Chef Alain Ducasse’s first restaurant in the Middle East truly delivers. Each dish is a celebration of local tastes, spices and ingredients, such as the Date Soufflé, a traditional French dessert with a Qatari twist.

After a short repose in MIA park, wander over to Souq Waqif, an outdoor marketplace where you’ll find traditional garments, spices, handicrafts, and souvenirs.

In the winding alleyways of the Souq, you’ll find the culinary gem Parisa, a palatial restaurant with intricate mirrorwork and antique glass lanterns that serves the best of Persian cuisine. The Taj Bareh Kebab, a rack of lamb barbecue with homemade spices and fresh lime, is a crowd favorite.  Once the sun sets, you’ll find a variety of entertainment options in the Souq, including street performances and exhibitions, or you can head back towards MIA and the corniche to enjoy a traditional Dhow boat ride. 

Day 3

After enjoying Old Doha, head to the Pearl-Qatar, one of the largest real-estate developments in the Middle East, for a stroll along the waterfront.  Window shop at the Ferrari and Rolls Royce show rooms, or gaze at the luxury yachts harbored in the marinas, and sate your appetite by sampling Qatari fare at Rosado cafe, an independent Qatari-owned café that features Qatari staples like Machboos, as well as vegan and vegetarian dishes.

After lunch, wander around Porto Arabia at the Pearl and get a closer look at the yachts dotting the marina or explore Qanat Quartier, a Venice-inspired neighborhood with pastel-colored buildings and canals throughout.

Unwind at the recently opened Al Messila Wellness Resort & Spa, the first 5-star wellness retreat in Qatar. The palace-styled resort redefines luxury and wellness with 26 treatment rooms, mineral therapy pools and hydro wellness worlds themed Oriental, Floral, Mystic, and Mineral.  Close out the day with dinner at one of the resort’s eight innovative restaurants. Overseen by acclaimed Michelin-starred Italian chef Pino Lavarra, all the restaurants emphasise healthy cuisine and fresh ingredients.  For an authentic culinary experience, try the Madrouba at Deli Kitchen. A spicy and comforting porridge originating from neighboring Oman, Madrouba is made with chicken, overcooked rice, and spices such as turmeric, cumin, cardamom, ginger, cloves, cinnamon, garlic, and black pepper. 

Day 4

Take the morning to wander through Katara Cultural Village. A maze of cobbled alleys more reminiscent of a medieval souq than contemporary Qatar, Katara is home to inspiring arts venues, a Greco-Roman amphitheater, boutiques and restaurants.  It sits along a spacious public beach where you can dip your toes in the water or enjoy one of the water sports activities on offer.

Just a 5-minute taxi-ride away, the Mondrian hotel has some of Qatar’s best high-end eateries in a funky, contemporary setting. For seafood lovers, Morimoto is not to be missed.  Try the chef’s signature Seafood Toban Yaki, a mouthwatering combination of lobster, king crab, mussels, clams and sea scallops in a spicy red miso lobster broth.  If you’re lucky, you might run into Chef Morimoto himself, who often passes through town to greet customers or give a masterclass.  Or try CUT by Wolfgang Puck, which emphasizes top-quality cuts of beef, combined with locally-sourced produce and ingredients. The chef’s signature dish is Braised Short Rib on the Bone, served with lettuce cups, rice and steamed Bao buns.

To feel the hustle and bustle of Doha, walk through downtown Doha (referred to as Al Dafna) and get an up close look at some of the architectural wonders that dot the skyline, such as Doha Tower, designed by architect Jean Nouvel, or the 52-floor Tornado Tower, which boasts 35,000 different light and color combinations at night.

After the sun sets, stop by the W Hotel for some prime people-watching. Sip on a beverage poolside at Wham Lounge, or for a more subdued experience, at Market by Jean Georges on the ground level.  If you are hungry for dinner, sample the Tuna Caponata at La Spiga by Paper Moon, named the Best Italian Restaurant by Time Out Doha for several years running. 

Continue to explore

By subscribing, you agree to QNTC´s collection and processing of your personal information for purposes of direct marketing in accordance with its Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions. You may opt out at any time. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

تخطى الى المحتوى الرئيسي

تجارب لا تفوّت

برنامج رحلة الطهي

دلّل حاسة التذوق لديك من خلال جولةٍ في أرقى المطاعم بالدوحة.

ينعكس عشق قطر للرفاهية في مشهد الطهي الذي تتمتع به. ففي العاصمة الدوحة، ستجد عدداً من المطاعم الحاصلة على نجمة ميشلان والتي تقدّم مجموعة منتقاة من المأكولات ويديرها بعضٌ من أفضل الطهاة في العالم، إلى جانب ما تضمه من مواهب تتراوح من أمريكا اللاتينية إلى اليابان. ويحظى المطبخ الراقي في المدينة باهتمام متزايد من جانب عشاق الطعام حول العالم. وسيكون التحدي الأكبر لديك هو إيجاد الوقت والمعدة التي يمكنها تذوّق جميع المأكولات الشهية في قطر خلال زيارتك.  

اليوم الأول

إذا وصلت إلى الدوحة في المساء، فاستمتع بإقامة فاخرة في فندق ومنتجع شرق الحائز على الجوائز والذي يقع في منتصف الطريق بين مطار حمد الدولي والأحياء المركزية في الدوحة.  ويقع فندق ريتز كارلتون على طول الساحل الذهبي لقطر، ويوفر شاطئاً منعزلاً يمكنك الاسترخاء فيه بعد رحلة طويلة. ويحتوي المنتجع على الكثير من خيارات الأطعمة الفاخرة، ولكن لمعايشة أفضل تجربة بدوية خارج الخيمة، استمتع بتجربة الزرب، وهي عملية يتم فيها طهي اللحوم (عادةً كتف الضأن أو عظم الساق) ببطء لمدة 6 ساعات في حفرة تحت الأرض أو في فرن أرضي يسمى الزرب.   

اليوم الثاني

استهلّ يومك في متحف الفن الإسلامي.  يُعد مبنى المتحف تحفة معمارية في حد ذاته من تصميم المهندس المعماري المعروف عالمياً آي إم بي.  وبعد الاستمتاع بأربعة قرون من الفن الإسلامي والتحف اليدوية، بما في ذلك الأعمال المعدنية والسيراميك والمجوهرات والأعمال الخشبية والمنسوجات والزجاج، من ثلاث قارات، توجّه إلى الطابق العلوي لتناول الغداء في مطعم "إدام"  الذي يعني الكرم، وهو أول مطعم للشيف ألان دوكاس في منطقة الشرق الأوسط ويوفر مأكولات رائعة حقاً، حيث يمثل كل طبق احتفالاً بالأذواق والتوابل والمكونات المحلية، مثل سوفليه التمر، وهو عبارة عن حلوى فرنسية تقليدية بلمسةٍ قطرية.

بعد استراحة قصيرة في حديقة متحف الفن الإسلامي، تجوّل في سوق واقف في الهواء الطلق؛ حيث يمكنك العثور على الملابس التقليدية والتوابل والتحف اليدوية والهدايا التذكارية.

في الأزقة المتعرجة للسوق، ستجد جوهرة الطهي باريسا، وهو مطعم فخم يضم مرايا معقدة ومصابيح زجاجية عتيقة ويقدم أفضل المأكولات الفارسية. ويعتبر تاج بارح كباب من الأطباق المفضلة لدى الجماهير وهو عبارة عن شبكة من شواء لحم الضأن مضافاً إليه توابل محلية وليمون طازج.  ومع غروب الشمس، ستجد مجموعة متنوعة من خيارات الترفيه في السوق، بما في ذلك عروض الشوارع والمعارض، ويمكنك بدلاً من ذلك العودة إلى متحف الفن الإسلامي والكورنيش للاستمتاع بركوب القوارب الخشبية (اللنجات) التقليدية. 

اليوم الثالث

بعد الاستمتاع بالدوحة القديمة، توجه إلى اللؤلؤة-قطر، أحد أكبر مشروعات التطوير العقاري في الشرق الأوسط، للتنزه على طول الواجهة البحرية.  واستمتع بمشاهدة معروضات المتاجر عبر النوافذ في صالات عرض فيراري ورولز رويس، أو تأمل اليخوت الفاخرة الموجودة في المراسي، ودلّل نفسك بتذوق المأكولات القطرية في مقهى روسادو والذي يقدّم أطباقاً قطرية مثل طبق المجبوس، بالإضافة إلى الأطباق النباتية.

بعد الغداء، تجوّل في بورتو أرابيا في اللؤلؤة وألق نظرة تأمل على اليخوت المنتشرة في المرسى أو استكشف قناة كارتييه المستوحاة من مدينة البندقية الإيطالية والتي تضمّ مباني وقنوات فاتحة اللون في جميع الأنحاء.

استرخِ في منتجع وسبا المسيلة الذي افتتح مؤخراً ويُعد أول منتجع صحي من فئة 5 نجوم في قطر. وقد تم تصميم المنتجع على طراز القصور؛ حيث يقدم صورةً جديدة عن الفخامة والعافية ويضم 26 غرفة علاجية ومسابح للعلاج بالمياه المعدنية وعوالم للعافية المائية ذات طابعٍ شرقي وزهري وروحي ومعدني.  واختتم يومك بتناول العشاء في أحد مطاعم المنتجع المبتكرة الثمانية. فجميع المطاعم تخضع لإشراف الشيف الإيطالي الشهير بينو لافارا الحائز على نجمة ميشلان، وتركز على المأكولات الصحية والمكونات الطازجة.  وللاستمتاع بتجربة طهي أصيلة، جرب المضروبة في مطبخ ديلي، وهي عبارة عن عصيدة حارة ولذيذة على الطريقة العمانية، وتُصنع من الدجاج والأرز المطبوخ جيداً والتوابل، مثل الكركم والكمون والهيل والزنجبيل والقرنفل والقرفة والثوم والفلفل الأسود. 

اليوم الرابع

استهل صباحك بالتجول في الحي الثقافي كتارا الذي يُعد متاهةً من الأزقة المرصوفة بالحصى تذكرنا بسوقٍ في العصور الوسطى أكثر من قطر المعاصرة، ويضم أماكن للفنون الملهمة ومسرحاً يونانياً رومانياً ومتاجر للموضة ومطاعم رائعة.  ويقع الحي على طول شاطئ عام فسيح يمكنك فيه غمس أصابع قدميك في الماء أو الاستمتاع بأحد أنشطة الرياضات المائية المعروضة.

يقع فندق موندريان على بُعد 5 دقائق فقط بالسيارة ويضم بعضاً من أفضل المطاعم الراقية في قطر في أجواء عصرية غير تقليدية. ولا ينبغي لعشاق المأكولات البحرية تفويت زيارة مطعم موريموتو.  جرب الطبق البحري المميّز توبان ياكي من إعداد الشيف نفسه، حيث يحتوي على مزيج شهيّ من  سرطان البحر وسلطعون الملك وبلح البحر والمحار والإسقلوب البحري في مرق سرطان البحر بالميسو الأحمر الحار.  وإذا كنت محظوظاً، فقد تصادف الشيف موريموتو نفسه، الذي غالباً ما يمر عبر المدينة لتحية العملاء أو إعطاء دروس متقدمة.  أو جرب مطعم كت للشيف ولف جانج باك، الذي يركز على قطع اللحم البقري عالية الجودة، إلى جانب المنتجات والمكونات محلية المصدر. ويُعد طبق الشيف المميّز هو الضلع القصير المطهوّ ببطء على العظم، ويُقدَّم مع أكواب الخس والأرز وكعك باو المطهو بالبخار.

لتشعر بصخب وضجيج الدوحة، تجوّل في وسط مدينة الدوحة (المشار إليه باسم الدفنة) وألق نظرة عن قُرب على بعض العجائب المعمارية المنتشرة في الأفق، مثل برج الدوحة، الذي صممه المهندس المعماري جان نوفيل، أو برج تورنادو المكون من 52 طابقاً، والذي يضم 35 ألف مزيج مختلف من الإضاءات والألوان ليلاً.

بعد غروب الشمس، توقف عند فندق دبليو للاستمتاع بمشاهدة بعض الأشخاص على نحوٍ مميّز. وارتشف مشروباً بجانب المسبح في صالة وهم، أو استمتع بتجربة أكثر هدوءاً في ماركت باي جان جورج في الطابق الأرضي.  وإذا كنت جائعاً وتود تناول العشاء، فتذوق تونا كابوناتا في لا سبيجا باي بيبر مون، الذي حصل على لقب أفضل مطعم إيطالي من تايم آوت الدوحة لعدة سنوات متتالية. 

واصل رحلة الاستكشاف

demand space sticky