Majlis and other traditions in Qatar

Things To Do

Majlis and other traditions in Qatar

The majlis is a central feature of Qatari life. Located by the home, this is where individuals meet to discuss pressing topics, functioning much like a salon in Western Europe.

The majlis is one of the most important spaces in Qatari life. It tends to be a male only space, with women meeting inside the home. Located near the entrance, the majlis is a separate room which allows visitors to circumvent the more private spaces in the house.  Guests in the majlis are offered dates and served Arabic coffee in a characteristically shaped pot (called dallah) in tiny cups with no handles.

The most decorated space in the house, the majlis was traditionally the only room with windows opening onto the street. Less ornate houses utilised simpler decoration with recessed niches (roshaneh), while wealthier residences filled the windows of the majlis with coloured glass, with some incorporating window screens or carved gypsum panels with symmetrical geometric designs.

Date cultivation

One of the oldest trees on the Arabian Peninsula, date palms are the principal fruit trees grown in Qatar.  Packed with nutritional benefits, they have long been important in the region, with Qatar the sixteenth-largest date-producing country in the world. 

Serving Arabic coffee and dates remains a symbolic expression of hospitality in Qatar. Sweet and sticky, date syrup has been used in eastern Arabia for centuries, and is extracted with a madbasa, a traditional date press.

Examples of these date presses can be seen in the town of Al Zubarah, revealing the importance of dates to Qatar’s early culture and economy, as well as for meeting the nutritional needs of the local population.

Majlis and other traditions in Qatar
Majlis and other traditions in Qatar

Arabic coffee

The serving of traditional Arabic coffee plays a special role in Qatar as an expression of hospitality and welcome. Freshly ground and flavoured with cardamom and other spices, the coffee is served from a distinctively shaped pot (called dallah) in tiny cups with no handles.

Majlis and other traditions in Qatar

Bukhoor

Incense is very popular in Qatar and throughout the region. Made from scented wood, it is burned in a special incense burner called a mabkhara to produce a rich smoke to perfume the home and clothing. As a show of hospitality, visitors are often invited to waft the smoke around themselves.

Dhow boats

Qatar is a country inextricably tied to the sea. For generations, fishing, pearl diving and trading provided a livelihood for much of the population. Traditional wooden dhows, largely unchanged in design over the years, are a remnant of this seafaring tradition and still ply Qatar’s waters today.

Boats were built by qalalif, and the craft of traditional boat building is kept alive through a number of specialised dhow workshops across the Arabian Gulf, such as the Emiri Shipbuilding Workshop in Qatar.

There are many types of wooden dhows, based on design, usage, and size, and with specific names such as Sanabeck, Tieeh, Jalbout, Al Baggara.

Majlis and other traditions in Qatar
Majlis and other traditions in Qatar

Oud

Also known as 'liquid gold', oud is made from a rare dark resin found in the agar (aquilaria) tree, a species indigenous to Southeast Asia. Used for thousands of years in the Middle East and Asia, today oud is popular all over the world, recognisable as the ingredient that gives many popular ‘oriental’ perfumes their distinctive rich and woody fragrance. In the Middle East, oud is commonly available in the form of wooden incense chips, body oils and fragrance, and is a fixture in both Arab homes and at important ceremonies.

Majlis and other traditions in Qatar

Pearls

For centuries, pearls were an important export for Qatar. Although the country’s economy has long since evolved, Qatar still maintains an affinity for these unique natural treasures. Today, visitors can find an excellent selection of genuine pearl jewellery at fine retailers across the country; for the best deals, head to Souq Waqif and the Gold Souq in Doha. 

Continue to explore

Plan your trip

Skip to main content

نبذة عن قطر

المجلس والتقاليد الأخرى في قطر

يمثل المجلس سمةً أساسية في الحياة القطرية. ويقع بالقرب من المنزل، حيث يلتقي الأفراد لمناقشة الموضوعات الملحّة، ويُعد بمثابة الصالون في أوروبا الغربية.

يعد المجلس من أهم الأماكن في الحياة القطرية. وغالباً ما يكون مخصّصاً للرجال فقط، أما النساء فيجتمعن داخل المنزل. ويقع المجلس بالقرب من المدخل، وهو عبارة عن غرفة منفصلة تسمح للزوار بالاجتماع بعيداً عن المساحات الأكثر خصوصية في المنزل.  وفي المجلس، يُقدَّم للضيوف التمر والقهوة العربية في إناء مميّز الشكل (يسمى دلّة) في أكواب صغيرة بدون مقابض.

بحسب التقاليد، كان المجلس الذي يُعد الجزء الأكثر أناقة وزخرفة في المنزل هو الغرفة الوحيدة المشتملة على نوافذ مفتوحة تطل على الشارع. وكانت البيوت الأقل ترفاً وزينةً تستخدم زخارف أكثر بساطة مع إنشاء كوّات داخل الجدران (روشنّة)، بينما كانت المساكن الأكثر ثراءً تملأ نوافذ المجلس بالزجاج الملوّن، وبعضها يقوم بدمج شاشاتٍ في النوافذ أو ألواح جبسية منحوتة ذات تصاميم هندسية متناسقة.

المجلس والتقاليد الأخرى في قطر

التقاليد الرمضانية في قطر

رمضان هو الشهر التاسع والأكثر أهميةً في التقويم الهجري الإسلامي. وفيه، يمتنع المسلمون في كل مكان عن الطعام والشراب من شروق الشمس إلى غروبها.  ويُعد رمضان شهراً عامراً بالتأمل والروحانيات، حيث يجمع الأفراد المختلفين على عبادة مشتركة هي الصوم،  وهو وقت الصدقة والجود.

المجلس والتقاليد الأخرى في قطر

تقاليد العيد في قطر

يحتوي التقويم الهجري الإسلامي على عدة تواريخ مهمة، غير أن أكثرها احتفاءً هما العيدين.  فبعد صيام شهر رمضان، يأتي الاحتفال والفرح بحلول عيد الفطر.  وبعد حوالي شهرين، في نهاية موسم الحج، يحلّ عيد الأضحى،  الذي يمتد لأربعة أيام، ولكل عيد أهميته التاريخية وتقاليده الخاصة. 

زراعة النخيل

تعتبر أشجار النخيل من أقدم الأشجار في شبه الجزيرة العربية وتمثل الفاكهة الرئيسية المزروعة في قطر.  وتحتوي التمور على فوائد غذائية جمّة، ولطالما كانت مهمةً في المنطقة، وتحتل قطر المرتبة السادسة عشرة بين أكبر الدول المنتجة للتمور في العالم. 

لا يزال تقديم القهوة العربية والتمور يعبّر عن حسن الضيافة في قطر. وقد كان شراب التمر، الحلو واللزج، يُستخدم في شرق الجزيرة العربية منذ قرون، ويتم استخراجه بالمدبسة، وهي معصرة التمور التقليدية.

يمكن مشاهدة أمثلة على معاصر التمور في مدينة الزبارة، مما يدلّ عن أهمية التمور في ثقافة قطر واقتصادها في العصور الأولى، فضلاً عن تلبية الاحتياجات الغذائية للسكان المحليين.

المجلس والتقاليد الأخرى في قطر
زراعة النخيل
المجلس والتقاليد الأخرى في قطر

القهوة العربية

يلعب تقديم القهوة العربية التقليدية دوراً خاصاً في قطر باعتباره تعبيراً عن حسن الضيافة والترحاب. وتُقدّم القهوة المطحونة الطازجة والمُنكّهة بالهيل والتوابل الأخرى من إناء مميز الشكل (يُسمى الدلّة) في أكواب صغيرة بدون مقابض.

المجلس والتقاليد الأخرى في قطر

البخور

يحظى البخور بشعبية كبيرة في قطر وجميع أنحاء المنطقة. ويُصنع من الخشب المُعطر، حيث يتم حرقه في المبخرة لإنتاج دخان غنيّ يعمل على تعطير المنزل والملابس. وغالباً ما تتم دعوة الزوار لإطلاق دخان البخور حولهم، كعلامة على حسن الضيافة.

القوارب الخشبية (اللنجات)

تُعد قطر  دولة ترتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً  بالبحر.  فعلى مدى أجيال، كان صيد الأسماك والغوص بحثاً عن اللؤلؤ والتجارة توفر سبل العيش لكثير من السكان. وتعتبر القوارب الخشبية التقليدية (اللنجات)، والتي لم يتغير تصميمها إلى حد كبير على مر السنين، من بقايا تقاليد الملاحة البحرية ولا تزال تُبحر في مياه قطر إلى اليوم.

كان القلاليف يقومون على بناء القوارب، وقد تم الحفاظ على حرفة صناعة القوارب التقليدية من خلال عدد من ورش القوارب الخشبية (اللنجات) المتخصصة في جميع أنحاء الخليج العربي، مثل الورشة الأميرية لصناعة السفن الخشبية في قطر.

تتعدد أنواع القوارب الخشبية (اللنجات)، بحسب التصميم والاستخدام والحجم، ولها أسماء محدّدة، مثل السنبوك والتيه والجالبوت والبقارة.

المجلس والتقاليد الأخرى في قطر
القوارب الخشبية (اللنجات) في قطر
المجلس والتقاليد الأخرى في قطر

العود

يُعرف العود أيضاً باسم ''الذهب السائل''، وهو مصنوع من نوعٍ نادر من الراتنج الداكن الموجود في شجرة العود (الاسم العلمي: aquilaria)، وهي أحد الأنواع الأصلية في جنوب شرق آسيا. ولقد كان العود يستخدم منذ آلاف السنين في الشرق الأوسط وآسيا، واليوم أصبح مشهوراً في جميع أنحاء العالم، ويُعرف بأنه مكونٌ يمنح العديد من العطور "الشرقية" المشهورة رائحتها الغنية والخشبية المميزة. ويتوافر العود في الشرق الأوسط بصورة شائعة على شكل رقائق البخور الخشبية وزيوت الجسم والعطور، ويُعد عنصراً أساسياً في كلٍ من المنازل العربية والاحتفالات الهامة.

المجلس والتقاليد الأخرى في قطر

اللؤلؤ

لطالما كان اللؤلؤ على مدى قرونٍ أحد الصادرات المهمة لقطر. وعلى الرغم من تطور اقتصاد دولة قطر منذ فترة طويلة، فإنها لا تزال تحافظ على ارتباطها بهذه الكنوز الطبيعية الفريدة. واليوم، يمكن للزوار العثور على مجموعة ممتازة من مجوهرات اللؤلؤ الأصلية في متاجر التجزئة الفاخرة المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد؛ وللحصول على أفضل العروض، توجّه إلى سوق واقف وسوق الذهب في الدوحة. 

واصل رحلة الاستكشاف

تجارب لا تفوّت