Skip to main content

About Qatar

The top 10 insider tips for Doha travelers

Qatar National Tourism Council (QNTC) has revealed its top 10 tips for those seeking an authentic Middle Eastern experience in Qatar.

From centuries-old hosting traditions to Eid al-Fitr celebrations, Qatar prides itself on maintaining high hospitality standards and leaving visitors feeling welcome and cared for.

The welcoming and friendly spirit of locals is embedded deep within the country’s culture. It can be found not only in the tourism sector but across all aspects of everyday life – from food and drink to social life, culture, religion, and beyond.

Qatar National Tourism Council Secretary-General and Qatar Airways Group Chief Executive, His Excellency Mr. Akbar Al Baker, said: “Here in Qatar, we take pride in our cultural heritage and look forward to every opportunity to share it with our international guests.

“As part of the Qatar National Vision 2030, which aims to bring prosperity to our nation, we’ve worked hard to ensure all visitors enjoy the highest standards of hospitality and service during their stay. We are continually strengthening our tourism offer as we welcome visitors to our country in 2021 and beyond.”

The below guide comes just in time for those looking ahead to where they hope to travel in 2021.

Top 10 insider's tips

1. The art of Qahwa

Insider tips

Sharing coffee is an important part of Qatari social life and the traditions around serving it are a testament to Qatar’s famed hospitality. Coffee is always served from a traditional coffee pot known as a ‘dallah’ and poured in the ‘finjaan’ (a delicate cup). Locals always hold their cup in the right hand and avoid filling the drink right to the top. Coffee drinking is so embedded in Qatari culture that it is considered impolite to refuse a cup!

2. A handy tip for dinner guests

Insider tips

Hosting guests for shared meals is a fundamental part of Qatari culture, with dining together a foundation of family and social life. A key tip to remember is that locals will only pass food with their right hand – so following this tradition will impress Qatari hosts. One of the best places for a traditional Qatari meal is Shay Al Shoomos, located within the Souq Waqif. Guests can sample a range of local specialties including margoga, small pieces of bread mixed with sauce and cooked vegetables, and regag, a traditional Arabic crêpe. 

3. A sip or two

Insider tips

Tourists can enjoy their favourite beverage in hotel restaurants across the country, of which there are plenty. For a special evening, it’s worth visiting Nobu Doha, which overlooks the Arabian Sea and the capital’s skyline, making it the perfect setting at sunset. Alternatively, La Cigale, voted the leading dining and entertainment experience in both Qatar and the Middle East, has a rooftop terrace to enjoy the Doha skyline by sunshine or starlight, located on the 15th floor.

4. The holy month

Insider tips

Ramadan takes place for 30 days every year and begins and ends depending on the sighting of the Moon. The holy month is observed by Muslims in Qatar and around the world and is used as a time of prayer, community and fasting. When the month ends, all come together for Eid al-Fitr – a period of celebration filled with feasting, storytelling and games. Ramadan and its fasting is one of the five pillars of the Islamic faith and it’s respectful for those not observing it to be mindful of worship and fasting times. Should a visit to Qatar fall at this time, it’s worth checking the fasting times so you can celebrate breaking the fast with the locals each night!

5. Dress to impress

Insider tips

Qatar is relatively relaxed around dress, although it’s recommended for both men and women to cover their shoulders and knees. For those wanting to hop into a swimsuit and catch some rays, there are plenty of places to do so, at one of the many private hotel pools or beaches. These include the Aleph Doha Residences by Hilton, which features Doha’s highest swimming pool, or the St Regis Doha, with its pristine white sand private beach.

6. And, relax

Insider tips

Wellness is well-rooted in Middle Eastern and Arabic culture, with the use of hammams dating back to the Middle Ages. For anyone looking to sit back and unwind on their visit to Qatar, there’s an abundance of spas to choose from with a wide range of relaxing treatments and amenities. The Sharq Village & Spa in Doha is recommended for its Ultimate Hammam Experience while the award-winning Zulal Wellness Resort, located in the most northern point of the country, is the largest of its kind in the region.  

7. Mother tongue

Insider tips

While the majority of people speak English in Qatar, there is a large number of expatriates who bring a wealth of languages and dialects to this cosmopolitan destination. The official language, however, is Arabic – and learning a few words or phrases can demonstrate an interest in the country. The word for ‘hello’ is ‘marhabaa’ and ‘thank you’ is ‘shukraan’. For guests wanting to immerse themselves in Arabic culture, a visit to the National Museum of Qatar or the Museum of Islamic Art is not to be missed. 

8. Hand-drawn henna

Insider tips

Considered a sunnah (a commendable Islamic practice), and used to decorate women’s hands, henna tattoos are mostly worn for special celebrations, such as weddings or Eid. Each pattern is unique and many families host henna night celebrations. To get a henna tattoo, visit the Souq Waqif where henna stalls operate throughout the year.

9. Holiday fun

Insider tips

Halfway through Ramadan, on the 14th day, Qataris celebrate Garangao, a fun tradition for children to recognise their fasting efforts. During Garangao, after the sunset prayer, children dress up in traditional clothes, carry a decorated bag, and visit their neighbourhoods singing Garangao songs, and collect treats, such as sweets or nuts. For those visiting Qatar with children during this time, there are ways to get involved with celebrations held across the country, including at the National Museum of Qatar or the Mall of Qatar.

10. Bird spotting

Insider tips

Falconry plays a vital role in the region’s history and is recognised by UNESCO as a living human heritage. The birds are trained to hunt and follow the commands of their handlers – the Bedouins. Travellers can visit the Falcon Souq, where these elegant birds sit on perches. There is an annual Qatar Falconry Festival, which is an unmissable event held in January, if you are lucky enough to be visiting at that time. 

Continue to explore

Things to do

Skip to main content

نبذة عن قطر

أهم 10 نصائح من الخبراء للمسافرين إلى الدوحة

كشف المجلس الوطني للسياحة في قطر عن أهم 10 نصائح لأولئك الذين يأملون في الاستمتاع بتجربةٍ شرق أوسطية أصيلة في قطر.

بدءاً من تقاليد الاستضافة التي تعود إلى قرون مضت حتى احتفالات عيد الفطر، تفخر قطر بالحفاظ على معايير استضافةٍ عالية وإشعار الزوار بالترحيب والاهتمام.

تتأصل روح الترحيب والود التي يتحلى بها السكان المحليون في ثقافة البلد، وهي ملموسةٌ ليس فقط في قطاع السياحة ولكن في جميع جوانب الحياة اليومية - في الطعام والشراب والحياة الاجتماعية والثقافة والدين وغيرها.

صرّح سعادة السيد أكبر الباكر، الأمين العام للمجلس الوطني للسياحة والرئيس التنفيذي لمجموعة الخطوط الجوية القطرية، قائلاً: "إننا في قطر نفخر بتراثنا الثقافي ونتطلع إلى كل فرصة لمشاركته مع ضيوفنا من جميع أنحاء العالم.

"كجزء من رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، التي تهدف إلى تحقيق الرخاء لأمتنا، عملنا بجد لضمان حصول جميع الزوار على أعلى معايير الضيافة والخدمة أثناء إقامتهم. ونواصل العمل على تعزيز عروضنا السياحية مع الترحيب بالزوار في بلدنا في عام 2021 وما بعده."

يأتي الدليل الوارد أدناه في الوقت المناسب تماماً لأولئك الذين يتطلعون إلى السفر لقضاء رحلة ممتعة في عام 2021.

أهم 10 نصائح من الخبراء

1. فن القهوة

نصائح من الخبراء

يُعد التجمّع لتناول القهوة جزءاً مهماً من الحياة الاجتماعية القطرية، وتقف التقاليد المتعلقة بتقديمها شاهدةً على حسن الضيافة القطرية ذائعة الصيت. وتُقدّم القهوة دائماً من إبريق القهوة التقليدي المعروف باسم "الدلّة" حيث يتم سكبها في "الفنجان" (كوب صغير). ودائماً ما يمسك السكان المحليون فنجانهم باليد اليمنى ويتجنبون ملئه بالقهوة حتى النهاية. ويُمثل احتساء القهوة جزء لا يتجزأ من الثقافة القطرية حتى أن رفض الفنجان يُعد سلوكاً غير مستحب

2. نصيحة مفيدة للضيوف على العشاء

نصائح من الخبراء

تمثل استضافة الضيوف لتناول الوجبات الجماعية جزءاً محورياً في الثقافة القطرية، حيث يعتبر تناول الطعام معاً أساساً للحياة الأسرية والاجتماعية. وهناك نصيحة هامة يجب تذكرها، وهي أن السكان المحليين لا يتناولون الطعام إلا بيدهم اليمنى، ومن ثم فإن اتباع هذه العادة سيُثير إعجاب المضيفين القطريين. ويعد شاي الشموس، أحد أفضل الأماكن لتناول وجبة قطرية تقليدية، ويقع داخل سوق واقف. ويمكن للضيوف تذوّق مجموعة من الأطعمة المحلية، بما في ذلك المرقوقة وهي قطع صغيرة من الخبز الممزوج بالصلصة والخضروات المطبوخة والرقاق بمذاقه العربي التقليدي. 

3. تناول رشفة أو اثنتين

نصائح من الخبراء

يمكن للسياح الاستمتاع بتناول المشروبات المفضلة لديهم في المطاعم المنتشرة بكثرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. ولقضاء أمسيّة خاصة، يمكنك زيارة مطعم نوبو الدوحة، المطلّ على  بحر العرب وأفق العاصمة، مما يجعله المكان المثالي عند غروب الشمس. وبدلاً من ذلك، يمكنك التوجّه إلى مطعم لاسيجال، المشهود له بتقديم أفضل تجربة لتناول الطعام والترفيه في كلٍ من قطر والشرق الأوسط،  حيث يضم شرفةً على السطح تُتيح   الاستمتاع  بأفق الدوحة  مع أشعة الشمس أو  ضوء النجوم في الطابق الخامس عشر. .

4. شهر رمضان المبارك

نصائح من الخبراء

يكون شهر رمضان   30 يوماً من كل عام ويبدأ وينتهي بناءً على رؤية الهلال. ويحتفي المسلمون في قطر وفي جميع أنحاء العالم بهذا الشهر الفضيل ويعدّونه وقتاً مفضلاً للصلاة والصيام والاجتماع مع العائلة. وعندما ينتهي الشهر، يجتمع الجميع في  عيد الفطر  للاحتفال  بالولائم ورواية القصص والألعاب. ويمثل شهر رمضان المبارك وصيامه ركناً من أركان الإسلام الخمس، ويجدُر بمن لا يحتفي به أن يتذكر أوقات العبادة والصيام. فإذا ما قمت بزيارةٍ إلى قطر في هذا الوقت، عليك معرفة أوقات الصيام حتى تتمكن من الاحتفاء بالإفطار مع السكان المحليين كل ليلة!

5. تألق وتأنق

نصائح من الخبراء

تفرض قطر قيوداً مخففة نسبياً على الملابس، ومع ذلك يُستحسن تغطية الكتفين  والركبتين لكلٍ من الرجال والنساء. وبالنسبة لأولئك الذين يرغبون في ارتداء ملابس السباحة والاستمتاع بأشعة الشمس، توجد الكثير من الأماكن المخصّصة لذلك، في أحد المسابح أو الشواطئ الفندقية  الخاصة . ومن بين هذه الأماكن ألِف الدوحة ريزيدنس من هيلتون، الذي يضم أعلى مسبح في الدوحة، أو سانت ريجيس الدوحة، الذي يضم شاطئاً خاصاً من الرمال البيضاء.

6. واستمتع بالاسترخاء

نصائح من الخبراء

تتأصل العافية في الثقافة الشرق أوسطية والعربية؛ حيث يعود استخدام الحمامات إلى العصور الوسطى. وهناك العديد من خيارات السبا التي توفر مجموعة واسعة من العلاجات والمرافق الباعثة على الاسترخاء لأي شخص يتطلع إلى الاستجمام والاسترخاء أثناء زيارته لقطر. ويُنصح بزيارة فندق ومنتجع شرق في الدوحة للاستمتاع بتجربة الحمام الفاخرة التي يقدّمها، ويُعد منتجع زلال الصحي، الحائز على الجوائز والذي يقع في أقصى شمال البلاد، الأكبر من نوعه في المنطقة.  

7. اللغة الأم

نصائح من الخبراء

بينما يتحدث غالبية الأفراد اللغة الإنجليزية في قطر، هناك عددٌ كبير من الوافدين الذين يجلبون إلى هذه الوجهة العالمية  ثروةً  كبيرة من اللغات واللهجات. ومع ذلك، فإن اللغة الرسمية هي اللغة العربية ويمكن إظهار الاهتمام بالبلد من خلال تعلم بضع كلمات أو عبارات باللغة العربية، مثل كلمة "مرحباً"  للترحيب و "شكراً لك" لتقديم الشكر. ولا يجب للضيوف الراغبين في الانغماس في الثقافة العربية تفويت زيارة متحف قطر الوطني أو متحف الفن الإسلامي

8. الحناء المرسومة على اليد

نصائح من الخبراء

تُعتبر الحناء سنةً إسلامية وتستخدم لتزيين أيدي النساء، وغالباً ما يتم نقشها في الاحتفالات الخاصة، مثل الأعراس أو الأعياد. ويُعد كل نمط فريداً من نوعه وتُقيم العديد من العائلات الاحتفالات بليلة الحناء. وللحصول على الحناء، يمكنك زيارة سوق واقف حيث أكشاك الحناء المفتوحة على مدار العام.

9. المتعة يوم العطلة

نصائح من الخبراء

في اليوم الرابع عشر من رمضان، يحتفل القطريون بالقرنقعوه، أحد التقاليد الممتعة للأطفال تقديراً لإتمام صيام نصف شهر رمضان. وخلال القرنقعوه، التي تكون بعد صلاة المغرب، يرتدي الأطفال ملابس تقليدية ويحملون حقيبة مزيّنة ويتجولون في الأحياء وهم يغنون أغاني القرنقعوه ويجمعون الحلوى أو المكسرات. وهناك طرق تسمح لأولئك الذين يصطحبون الأطفال لزيارة قطر خلال هذا التوقيت بالمشاركة في الاحتفالات التي تُقام في جميع أنحاء البلاد، بما في ذلك الاحتفالات في متحف قطر الوطني أو مول قطر.

10. اكتشاف الطيور

نصائح من الخبراء

يلعب الصقارة دوراً حيوياً في تاريخ المنطقة وقد اعترفت منظمة اليونسكو بأنه يمثل تراثاً إنسانياً حياً، وفيه يتم تدريب الطيور على الصيد واتباع أوامر مدربيها وهم البدو. ويمكن للمسافرين زيارة سوق الصقور، حيث تجلس هذه الطيور الأنيقة على مجثمها. ويُقام مهرجان قطر للصقور في شهر يناير من كل عام وهو فعاليةٌ لا يمكن تفويتها لمن حظي بزيارة قطر في ذلك الوقت. 

واصل رحلة الاستكشاف

تجارب لا تفوّت