About Qatar

Things To Do

About Qatar

Qatar is where cultural authenticity meets modernity; where the sand meets the sea; where people come together to experience unique offerings in culture, sports, business and family entertainment.

About Qatar
About Qatar

The essence of Qatar

Qatar is a land where tradition meets modernity. It is a country whose people are rooted in their heritage while maintaining an eye on the future, and Qatar’s growing global role in business, politics, and education.

There is a deep respect for the nation’s history - archaeological sites and artefacts are painstakingly excavated and cared for – protected in-situ or housed in museums. Qatar is home to everything from neolithic rock carvings, modernist skyscrapers and gentle Dugongs in its glittering waters.  This is where ancient dwellings are only a stone’s throw from world class museums, glistening malls, desert adventures, and international sports venues. 

The country’s seafaring past today manifests in a continued reverence for the crystal waters that surround the peninsula. Fishing remains a passion, and enthusiasts can enjoy a plethora of water sports.  From kayaking through the Al Thakira mangroves to the thrill of a desert safari while taking in the majesty of the Inland Sea, to relaxing by the beach, Qatar allows visitors to reconnect with nature.

Qatar holds thrills and novel experiences for all. It offers a window to the past – and a glimpse into the future, all under the umbrella of that famous Arabian hospitality.  

About Qatar

History of Qatar

Archaeological evidence points to signs of human habitation on the Qatar Peninsula around 4000 years BC. For centuries, Qatar was largely populated by Bedouin tribes and a few fishing villages. 

Qatar’s modern history begins in 1766 with the establishment of the town of Al-Zubārah, which became an important economic outpost. Before the discovery of oil and gas changed the fortunes of the gulf state, the economy was built around fishing, pearl diving and trading. 

A British Protectorate from 1916, the modern state of Qatar was born on September 3, 1971, when it proclaimed its independence. Since then, the country has undergone rapid growth. 

Geography

Qatar is a peninsula with a 563-km coastline jutting along the western coast of the Arabian Gulf. The country shares an 87 km land border with Saudi Arabia to the south. Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, and Iran are nearby.

The country is characterised by its flat and arid desertscape. Qatar has a desert climate with year-round sunshine, hot summers and mild winters. Average monthly temperatures range from 17°C in January to 36°C in July, sometimes reaching highs of 40°C+ during the summer months. Average annual rainfall is 70 mm per year, and falls in brief showers between October and March, rarely hindering outdoor activities.

About Qatar

Continue to explore

Plan your trip

Skip to main content

نبذة عن قطر

نبذة عن قطر

تتمازج في قطر أصالة الثقافة بالحداثة والشواطئ بمياه البحر ويلتقي على أرضها عشّاق خوض التجارب الفريدة في ميادين الثقافة والرياضة والأعمال والترفيه العائلي.

نبذة عن قطر
نبذة عن قطر

روح قطر

قطر أرضٌ تمتزج فيها التقاليد بالحداثة، ودولةٌ يتمسّك شعبها بتراثه العريق ويتطلّع قدماً بعينٍ صوب المستقبل ويرعى بعينه الأخرى دَور قطر العالمي المتنامي في قطاعات الأعمال والسياسة والتعليم.

يحظى تاريخ قطر باحترام راسخ لدى شعبها، فالمواقع الأثرية والتحف الفنية يتم التنقيب عنها والعناية بها بجديّة بالغة وتتم حمايتها بالحفاظ عليها في مكانها أو بحفظها في المتاحف. وتُعد قطر موطناً لكل شيء بداية من المنحوتات الصخرية من العصر الحجري الحديث وناطحات السحاب الحديثة والأطوم اللطيفة التي تزيّن مياهها المتلألئة.  وفيها، لا تبعد المساكن القديمة سوى مرمى حجر عن المتاحف العالمية ومراكز التسوّق اللامعة ومغامرات الصحراء والأماكن الرياضية الدولية. 

يتجلى اليوم تاريخ الملاحة البحرية الذي تتمتع به قطر امتناناً لنعمة المياه الصافية التي تحيط بشبه جزيرة قطر؛ حيث يظل الصيد شغفاً يمكن لعشاقه الاستمتاع بمجموعة كبيرة من الرياضات المائية.  فبدءاً من ركوب الكاياك عبر غابات القرم بالذخيرة ومروراً بالإثارة التي توفرها رحلات السفاري الصحراوية مع الاستمتاع بعظمة البحر الداخلي (خور العديد) إلى الاسترخاء على الشاطئ، تسمح قطر للزوار بإعادة التواصل مع الطبيعة.

تنطوي قطر على تجارب مثيرة وجديدة للجميع، فهي بمثابة نافذةٍ مُطلّة على الماضي وعلى المستقبل في آنٍ واحد، تظلّلها تلك الضيافة العربية ذائعة الصيت.  

نبذة عن قطر

تاريخ قطر

تشير الأدلة الأثرية إلى وجود علامات لعيش الإنسان في شبه جزيرة قطر منذ 4000 عام تقريباً قبل الميلاد. وقد ظلّت القبائل البدوية وعدد قليل من قرى الصيد تستوطن قطر لعدة قرون. 

بدأ تاريخ قطر الحديث في عام 1766 مع إنشاء مدينة الزبارة التي أصبحت محوراً اقتصادياً مهماً. وقبل اكتشاف النفط والغاز الذي أثرى كنوز هذه الدولة الخليجية، كان الاقتصاد قائماً على صيد الأسماك والغوص بحثاً عن اللؤلؤ والتجارة. 

مع نهاية الانتداب البريطاني الذي بدأ في عام 1916‏، وُلِدَت دولة قطر الحديثة في الثالث من سبتمبر 1971‏، تاريخ إعلان الاستقلال. ومنذ ذلك الحين، شهدت البلاد نمواً سريعاً. 

جغرافيا الدولة

قطر شبه جزيرة تتميز بخط ساحلي يبلغ طوله 563 كيلومتر على الساحل الغربي للخليج العربي. وتشترك في الحدود البرية مع المملكة العربية السعودية بطول 87 كيلومتر من ناحية الجنوب. وتفصلها مسافة قصيرة عن البحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة وإيران.

تتميز قطر بمناظرها الصحراوية المستوية والقاحلة. وتتمتع بمناخ صحراوي مُشمس على مدار العام، وصيف حار وشتاء معتدل. ويتراوح متوسط درجات الحرارة الشهرية من 17 درجة مئوية في يناير إلى 36 درجة مئوية في يوليو، وأحياناً تصل إلى أكثر من 40 درجة مئوية خلال أشهر الصيف. ويبلغ المتوسط السنوي لهطول الأمطار 70 ملم في السنة، وتستمر زخات المطر لفترة قصيرة في الفترة ما بين أكتوبر ومارس، ونادراً ما تعوق الأنشطة الخارجية.

نبذة عن قطر

واصل رحلة الاستكشاف

تجارب لا تفوّت